White Whole Wheat Flour

567605_44363860-1When I first started baking with whole grain flours, I used regular ol’ whole wheat for everything.  I didn’t even know I had other options.  So new to the whole foods world was I…  While there’s nothing wrong with that regular ol’ whole wheat flour, and I still use it from time to time, it does make baked treats denser or stronger-tasting than you sometimes want. 

Enter white whole wheat flour!

Sidebar:

From this point on, I will refer to white whole wheat flour as “WWWF” – not to be confused with “WWF,” the World Wrestling Federation.  It’s too much of a tongue (finger?) twister for me to type and you to read over and over.  Don’t worry – I asked its permission and it’s all cool.

Resume post

I don’t remember how I heard about WWWF’s existence, but I’m glad we finally met.  WWWF is made from a white or “albino” wheat instead of the red wheat from which regular whole wheat flour is milled.  This white wheat is actually quite common in the U.K., but red wheat still rules the U.S.  It’s been gaining popularity in the States – have you seen all the white whole wheat breads at grocery stores? – but I blame its eons of elusiveness as an excuse to why it escaped my notice for so long. 

The great thing about WWWF is that it has all the nutrition and fiber of regular whole wheat flour, but with a much milder taste.  It’s still made from the entire grain – bran, germ, and endosperm – but doesn’t contain tannins and phenolic acid in its outer bran.  These are the substances that give red wheat its distinct, sometimes bitter flavor. WWWF also has a whiter color (obviously) and slightly finer grind, so it can act more like traditional, light and fluffy, all-purpose flour in baking.  In the end, you get sweeter-tasting, lighter-colored, softer baked goods.  Hooray!

When substituting WWWF for all-purpose flour or whole wheat flour, I just go cup for cup – works great!  I’ve used King Arthur White Whole Wheat Flour, but Bob’s Red Mill and Hodgson Mill both make some as well. 

Have you ever baked with white whole wheat flour?  What’s your favorite whole grain flour?

26 Responses to “White Whole Wheat Flour”


  1. 1 Hangry Pants November 9, 2008 at 8:52 am

    I was the same as you – used regular whole wheat for everything. I love using whole wheat pastry flour. It’s so subtle in flavor and texture and works so well. It’s the easiest to sneak into things. :D

    I bought white whole wheat accidentally and like that, too. In my opinion, with all the wheat options, there is no reason for white flour.

    Heather

  2. 2 sweetandnatural November 9, 2008 at 9:27 am

    Hangry Pants – I like whole wheat pastry flour too and I’m wondering how different it really is from WWWF in baked goods. I think I’ll do a side-by-side comparison with various flours in the same recipe for a future blog post.

  3. 4 Tina November 9, 2008 at 11:18 am

    I love using WW flour in my recipes. I should give WW pastry flour a try sometime.

  4. 5 Andrea [bellaeats] November 9, 2008 at 12:13 pm

    I love your informative posts! I discovered WWWF in the last couple of months and love that it makes my baked goods fluffier than the whole wheat. I’ve also used whole wheat pastry flour, but not as much. It will be great to see a comparison with a specific baked good…looking forward to that! And…I use King Arthur for everything!!! :)

  5. 6 sweetandnatural November 9, 2008 at 1:15 pm

    VeggieGirl – I haven’t yet ventured into the gluten-free world, but I’m particularly curious about brown rice flour and quinoa flour…not sure why those over others… Have you used either?

    Tina – Definitely try WW pastry flour or WWWF! I like them both. :-)

    Andrea [bellaeats] – Glad you like the info! I’m always curious about this kind of stuff, but most people just smile and nod when I talk about how interesting I think it is. :-P It’s nice to find others who share my enthusiasm!

  6. 7 caitlin November 9, 2008 at 8:38 pm

    what about spelt flour? what is that, anyways?

    re: your run, OHMIGOD THAT IS AMAZING! if you want to get even better, try following a training plan! i have a link to training plans on the left side of my blog (under Musings On….)

    WAY TO GO!

  7. 8 sweetandnatural November 10, 2008 at 8:05 am

    caitlin - Spelt flour! I knew there was another one I had been wanting to! I think spelt is a type of wheat that’s higher in protein than regular wheat. It’s supposed to have a nutty flavor. I’m adding it to my list. Now I think I need to actually write down a list now instead of just keeping it in my head…

    And thanks for the running encouragement! Do you have a training plan reco for someone at my level – in decent shape, but not a big runner?

  8. 9 caitlin November 10, 2008 at 10:28 am

    http://www.coolrunning.com/engine/2/2_3/181.shtml

    this is the BEST plan for non-runners who want to become runners. you may be able to start on week 3 or 4, depending on your current running ability.

  9. 10 Lindsey November 10, 2008 at 12:48 pm

    I actually have some spelt flour in my cabinet now. I feel texture/ density wise it’s kind of in-between whole wheat pastry flour and whole wheat flour. It is a high protein flour, higher than regular whole wheat actually, but I think the proteins are easier to digest that proteins in whole wheat flour.

    And the couch to 5k is great! I’m actually doing that right now, I’m strongly considering a 5k in 5 weeks. :)

  10. 11 Lindsey November 10, 2008 at 12:49 pm

    Oh but I’ve never tried white whole wheat flour! Thank you so much for this post – for some reason I used to assume the white whole wheat flour couldn’t be as nutritionally good for you as regular whole wheat flour. Shame on me for not doing my research!! I definitely want to look into it more and play with WWWF too. :)

  11. 12 sweetandnatural November 10, 2008 at 12:49 pm

    caitlin - Thanks for the link! I’ll see how I can work this into my schedule.

    Lindsey - Thanks for the extra spelt info! Good to know from someone with experience. Let me know how you like WWWF if you give it a shot. And glad to hear the 5K program is a good one. Were you already exercising regularly before you began or was it a totally new thing for you?

  12. 13 caitlin November 10, 2008 at 12:58 pm

    the rule is never to increase your weekly mileage by more than 10% to avoid injury! if you don’t run more than 5 – 7 miles a week, you’re a “beginner” runner.

  13. 14 sweetandnatural November 10, 2008 at 1:44 pm

    caitlin - I hearby name you my virtual running coach. :-)

  14. 16 sonia November 11, 2008 at 12:23 am

    I liked the muffins post earlier. I do not check blogs often but I like yours since it is a relatively unexplored concept..I generally use whole wheat pastry flour. Is it different from wwwf?

  15. 17 sweetandnatural November 11, 2008 at 2:17 am

    Andrea [bellaeats] – Thanks for the blog love!

    sonia – Glad you like the concept! It’s a fun one for me, so I’m excited about sharing. As to your question, I know whole wheat pastry flour is lower in gluten and protein and milled to be finer in texture than regular whole wheat flour, but some Google searching leads me to believe it may also be made from soft, white whole wheat. Hmmm…I’ll have to do a more investigative blog post on whole wheat pastry flour in the future.

  16. 18 Mel November 11, 2008 at 2:04 pm

    I just found your blog today! I love it! Thank you for the informative post about wwwf, I have never tried it and I think that I am going to have to now! I’ve always baked with whole wheat and usually cut it with some ww pastry flour, but this sounds like the best of both worlds!

  17. 19 Lindsey November 11, 2008 at 2:08 pm

    I’ve always kept in decent shape. Recently I started getting a lot more active with walking and jogging. Then I started the Galloway method a couple weeks ago (basically you have a run/ walk ratio…I started at run 2 minutes, walk 1, repeat…then gradually increase your run time/ decrease your walk time). If you’ve done any kind of jogging or running or anything, you’ll probably adapt to the C25k running plan really well. I jumped in at week 5 workout 1 today because I’m hoping to do a 5k in 5 weeks. Trust me, if I can do it (we’ll find out for sure in 5 weeks) ANYONE can do it!!

  18. 20 sweetandnatural November 11, 2008 at 3:11 pm

    Mel - Hi! Glad you like the blog so far! Give WWWF a shot and let me know what you think. :-)

    Lindsey - Thanks for the extra motivation. I think I’ll go print the program off and start tonight! Typing that = commitment.

  19. 21 ttfn300 November 15, 2008 at 5:00 pm

    yup yup, i like wwwf and ww pastry :) and always to good results! (unless of course i goof in the ingredients!!)

  20. 22 sweetandnatural November 15, 2008 at 7:17 pm

    ttfn300 – I like them too. Haven’t decided which is my favorite yet!

  21. 23 Dave Rado February 25, 2012 at 8:12 am

    Can you even make things like authentic tasting croissants and ciabattas using white wholemeal pastry flour?


  1. 1 banana apple bread « bella eats [and runs] Trackback on November 14, 2008 at 9:57 am
  2. 2 Ten Minute Chocolate Chip Cookies « Crazy & Delish Natural Baking With A Conscience Trackback on August 22, 2009 at 1:49 pm
  3. 3 So Good Vegan Chocolate Chip Cookies « Simple.Organic.Natural.Eating.Baking.Cooking. Trackback on August 28, 2009 at 6:57 pm
Comments are currently closed.



Contact

ashley.sweetandnatural@gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter!


Quantcast

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 133 other followers

