Maple Banana Cornbread

cimg2226_2

If you haven’t caught on yet, I like to bake traditional treats with a bit of a twist…brownies with cinnamon, pumpkin muffins with honey, chocolate chip cookies with coffee.  My goal is to create recipes that are approachable, but interesting, because those are the kind I like best.  Everybody loves banana bread or chocolate cupcakes, but what can I do to make that first bite a tad surprising?  

In light of this baking ideology, and the approaching holiday, I set out to spice up a seasonal favorite – cornbread.  I’ve had some stone-ground cornmeal hanging out in my apartment for a while now – remnants of a one-off chili and cornbread night – and it’s been begging to be used.  I think it felt left out because every time I reached into the cabinet to pull out my baking ingredients, I passed it over in favor of WWWF or whole wheat pastry flour.   I figured it deserved its moment in the spotlight too, but what to do with it?

cimg2218_2

Maple Banana Cornbread sounds good to me!  This is a really fun recipe that has no added fat and is very low in sugar – but you can’t even tell!  I think that’s awesome.  Just make sure you use a cornmeal that’s 100% whole grain to keep it 100% whole foods.

Recipe:

1 cup stone ground cornmeal

3/4 cup white whole wheat flour

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1/2  teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon baking soda

2 medium bananas, mashed

1/2 cup maple syrup

1 egg white

1/2 cup skim milk

Preheat the oven to 350*F. Spray an 8 x 4-inch loaf pan with cooking spray and set aside.  In a large bowl, mix cornmeal, white whole wheat flour, cinnamon, salt and baking soda.  In a separate bowl, mix together bananas, maple syrup, egg white and skim milk.  Stir the banana mixture into the dry ingredients until just blended. Pour into prepared pan and bake for about 35-40 minutes.

cimg2228_2

I’m really excited about my Maple Banana Cornbread because it came out exactly the way I was hoping it would.  It has the nutty flavor and slightly crumbly texture of cornbread with added sweetness and moistness from the maple syrup and bananas.  This one’s a keeper!

cimg2234-1

I like the tops of sweet breads best because they’re the softest!

Do you have a spruced up cornbread recipe?  

cimg2237-1

41 Responses to “Maple Banana Cornbread”


  1. 1 teenageveghead November 19, 2008 at 9:40 pm

    that looks incredibly good!

    • 2 Alicia February 7, 2010 at 5:44 pm

      Thank you so much for this amazing recipe! I subbed skim for low-fat vanilla rice milk. Also, instead of 1/2 c. maple syrup I used 1/4 c. of ginger syrup, and 1/4 c. Bisson’s Sugar House pure maple syrup. It gave it a delicious little unexpected kick. Yum!

  2. 4 VeggieGirl November 19, 2008 at 9:42 pm

    INSANELY DELECTABLE!!! I like adding dried cranberries to cornbread :-)

  3. 5 Bridget P November 19, 2008 at 9:50 pm

    Beautiful pictures! I can’t say I’ve ever strayed from traditional cornbread – would this be something you would eat with something savory, like chili or soup or would you eat it like a sweet treat with a cup of coffee? Or both??

  4. 6 Jennifer November 19, 2008 at 10:30 pm

    I am SO making this (with gluten free flour of course). THanks so much, love it!!

  5. 7 Hangry Pants November 19, 2008 at 10:37 pm

    I think you’re approach to traditional with a twist baking is great! It’s sort of like mine, but you have better pictures. :D Oh, and you don’t seem to have any “misses” like me.

    One thing I like to do with cornbread is put corn kernels right in there.

  6. 8 ttfn300 November 19, 2008 at 11:19 pm

    wow, i LOVE the sounds of this!! i tried one with blueberries and basil (from food blogga), must’ve been in september :)

  7. 9 eatingbender November 20, 2008 at 12:09 am

    I love your baking ideology!! It’s so unique and makes your blog stand out! Great take on cornbread. It’s actually one of my favorite “breads” and combining it with maple and banana sounds like a dream come true! I’m bookmarking this and will possibly at it to our Thanksgiving meal!

  8. 10 Jessica November 20, 2008 at 12:44 am

    This looks delicious – I think I will try making it with dried cranberries as veggiegirl suggested. You really know how to choose good recipes :)

  9. 11 sweetandnatural November 20, 2008 at 8:29 am

    teenageveghead – It was pretty tasty. :-)

    VeggieGirl – Cranberries in cornbread sounds great!

    Bridget P – It’s definitely more sweet than savory. But I actually did have it with a bowl of chili one day! Mostly because I was very low on food. I probably wouldn’t recommend any dipping action.

    Jennifer – Haha – It’s perfect for you!

    Hangry Pants – I always called that type of cornbread “Corny Cornbread.” I know, way creative. Re: misses…The blog is young my friend. Don’t jinx it!

    ttfn300 – Blueberries and basil – I’m intrigued!

    eatingbender – Let me know how you like it if it makes a T-giving appearance!

    Jessica – I think the cranberries would be a great addition. :-)

  10. 12 Oh She Glows November 20, 2008 at 8:31 am

    Oh my what a lovely post!!! Your pictures an so beautiful. :)

    I have always loved cornbread and this recipe looks healthy and delicious.

    Do you ever use spelt in replacement of the flour when you cook? It is really healthy and gives a nice grainy & hearty texture.

  11. 13 Mel November 20, 2008 at 10:47 am

    Wow, this looks really good. I usually pass on cornbread because it’s always dry, but just looking at the pictures you can tell this is moist! Thank you for sharing, it’s definitely going in to recipe file! :)

  12. 14 sweetandnatural November 20, 2008 at 3:08 pm

    Oh She Glows - I haven’t tried spelt yet, but I think I’ll buy it as soon as I run out of the flour I have on hand. Excitement!

    Mel - I totally agree with you on the dry cornbread issue – I only go for it if it looks moist!

  13. 15 Andrea [bellaeats] November 20, 2008 at 3:26 pm

    Yay new recipe!!!! This sounds AMAZING, I’m definitely trying it. I have two ripe bananas in my kitchen, and as long as I can resist putting one in my oats tomorrow morning I think they are destined to be part of this recipe! :) I love your creativity with baked goods!!!

  14. 16 Mariposa November 20, 2008 at 3:48 pm

    oh yummmmyy!!! i HEART cornbread with a passion.. this looks easy enough to GF/DF it.. thanks for the idea!

  15. 17 Meghann November 20, 2008 at 4:20 pm

    I LOVE corn bread!!! I never thought before of making different variations of it, but now you have me intrigued. Of course growing up I do have to admit my favorite panackakes were always cornbread panackes. Sadly I can’t eat bananas, but I wonder what else I can use in your recipe isntead. Hmm…. pumpkin cornbread? You think that would work? :)

  16. 18 Sara November 20, 2008 at 4:53 pm

    I just stumbled across your blog and this Maple Banana Cornbread sounds wonderful…as do your other recipes! What a great blog you have. :)

  17. 19 sweetandnatural November 20, 2008 at 5:13 pm

    Andrea [bellaeats] – I hope you like it as much as I did!

    Mariposa - Let me know how it goes if you try it with the adjustments!

    Meghann - Now I totally want to make cornbread pancakes. As for your pumpkin cornbread idea…you must be reading my mind. I have a similar variation just waiting to be posted, so stay tuned!

    Sara - Thank you! Glad you like it. :-)

  18. 20 Mariposa November 20, 2008 at 7:52 pm

    well i made cornbread tonight for dinner, however no add-ins.. just regular GF/DF!! i was eating it with pulled BBQ pork- somehow the maple banana might not have worked ;)

    i’ll try it out this weekend though!

  19. 21 Tina November 20, 2008 at 8:52 pm

    Yuuummm! Beautiful pics too!

  20. 22 Amanda November 20, 2008 at 10:54 pm

    Mmmm…cornbread.

    Why don’t I live in NYC with you, yet? I miss healthy meals. Today we had chicken quesadillas for lunch at the TK. The greasy kind, not the healthy kind.

  21. 23 Lindsey November 21, 2008 at 8:05 am

    Oh my goodness, these look phenomenal! Yet another recipe of yours I’d love to try! And it looks simple too, my favorite. :)

  22. 24 sweetandnatural November 21, 2008 at 9:18 am

    Mariposa – You probably made the right choice with your cornbread tonight. ;-)

    Tina – Thank you!

    Amanda – One day my dear, one day. And I always went with the sandwich option for lunch – turkey, cheese and tomato on the George Forman. With a side of fruit and veggies and dip. It was my staple. I never got tired of it.

    Lindsey – SO simple!

  23. 25 Betsy November 21, 2008 at 9:54 am

    that sounds absolutely fantastic. I love cornbread and have eaten dozens of muffins my grandmother made from the Jiffy package. Homemade sounds so much better (especially with banana and maple!)

  24. 26 snooky doodle November 21, 2008 at 4:54 pm

    wow this looks so good. It s a keeper. I have to try it :) Nice blog I just discovered it.

  25. 27 Sharon November 21, 2008 at 8:19 pm

    Wow, thanks for sharing! And amazing pictures too – love the closeups!

  26. 28 sweetandnatural November 21, 2008 at 8:29 pm

    Betsy – I feel like I’m one of the only people who didn’t grow up on Jiffy! Am I missing an important part of childhood?

    snooky doodle – Thank you! Hope you’ll be back.

    Sharon – Thanks for reading!

  27. 29 Taryn November 23, 2008 at 4:34 pm

    wow- looks good. What kind of cornbread do you use? I have not made corn bread since I was a kid and we had jiffy mix.

  28. 30 sweetandnatural November 24, 2008 at 1:11 pm

    Taryn - Thanks! I don’t use a cornbread mix, if that’s what you’re asking. I make cornbread from scratch using stone ground cornmeal – you can find it next to the flours in the baking aisle.

  29. 31 Seeyatemba December 19, 2010 at 6:22 pm

    I just made this and it is absolutely delicious, tastes just like banana nut bread, even though there arent any nuts!!! I didnt have any baking soda or natural corn meal in the house, so I subbed a box of JIFFY corn mix (this also solved my no baking soda problem, as JIFFY rises on its own with no baking soda needed). Came out great, thanks for the recipe!!

  30. 32 Jose D Crespo de Leon December 28, 2010 at 3:38 pm

    Modified a bit with available ingredients I had. I replaced white flour with 1/4 coconut flour and 2/4 whole wheat flour. Also replaced skim milk with almond milk.

    This came out just awesome… I found this on my iphone and now that I see the full website in my computer I’m seeing a lot of recipes that I think will prepare really soon.

    Thanks for sharing!

  31. 33 Beth January 6, 2011 at 5:44 pm

    I made this bread the other day and it’s so good! I used spelt flour instead of white whole wheat because I haven’t seen it for sale anywhere–is it very common? Where would I find it?

  32. 35 sara September 17, 2011 at 3:34 pm

    this really looks good, and perfect for my low-everything family! back when i first began cooking i made cornbread with lavendar, pepper, blackberries and white chocolate. it was…not bad (still think there’s a good recipe SOMEWHERE in there, but i’m stubborn). also once made cornbread pancakes with caramelized bananas (ridiculously sinfully delicious…and only one of the reasons we’re all on a diet nowadays). anyway, thanks for an awesome blog! it’s totally going on the blog roll!

  33. 36 Noura April 22, 2012 at 10:41 am

    I am going to try this today! I have overripe bananas & wanted to do something different from the usual banana bread. i love cornbread & have been doing several variations on it lately. I just picked a bunch of fresh blackberries last weekend & made a blackberry cornbread (deelish!) and have also done blackberry cornbread w/ jalapeno goat cheese – wonderful as an appetizer. I also make a crawfish cornbread. Today I will make this Banana Cornbread to bring to a party. I’m sure it’ll be a hit!

  34. 37 Catherine May 15, 2012 at 7:10 pm

    I just made this and it’s very good… wil def make it again!

  35. 38 Lisa April 14, 2013 at 8:20 am

    A+!! Just found and made this recipe for breakfast today. I made as muffins. I used 2% milk and left in the egg yolk, but otherwise by the recipe. 5 minutes to prep, 20 minutes to bake. Moist and holds together nicely, but still with the cornbread graininess I love. Mild sweetness and flavor would go well with any savory meal, but I’ll mostly use these as snacks for my daughter since they fit into her Feingold diet. Excellent. Thank you.


  1. 1 oh the weather outside is frightful… « bella eats [and runs] Trackback on November 30, 2008 at 10:16 pm
  2. 2 Oh She Glows » Blog Archive » Ashley: Sweet and Natural Trackback on June 5, 2009 at 12:10 pm
  3. 3 So you have some over-ripe bananas…. « the fine print. Trackback on August 12, 2012 at 2:09 am
Comments are currently closed.



Contact

ashley.sweetandnatural@gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter!


Quantcast

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 130 other followers

