Whole Wheat Pastry Flour

447031_12793172You’ve probably noticed by now that the main flours I use in baking up my goods are whole wheat pastry flour and white whole wheat flour.  I promise I’ll branch out to other flours one day.  There just happen to be rather large bags of said grains currently occupying space in my kitchen cabinet.  And since that kitchen cabinet is already spilling baking products onto my bedroom shelves – have I mentioned my tiny apartment?! – I think it’s best to use up what I have before purchasing more.  But I do have every intention of getting out of my comfort zone that is the world of wheat – there’s spelt, brown rice, quinoa to explore!

I wrote about white whole wheat flour a while back, so it’s time to give whole wheat pastry flour the stage.

Sidebar: Let’s just call them WWWF – remember that one? - and WWPF from here out.  Way easier. 

So what’s the diff?  Well, they’re both made from whole wheat – obviously – yay whole grains!  Actually, they’re both made from whole white wheat.  But WWPF is produced from a “soft” variety whereas WWWF is made from a “hard” variety.  And WWPF is milled to a very fine texture while WWWF is more coursely ground.  WWPF is also lower in protein and gluten.  Add all these things together and you get a flour that’ll give you baked goods more light and tender than regular whole wheat flour, or even WWWF, ever could.

I tend to turn to WWPF for delicate treats – like cakes – and WWWF for things that can handle a heartier texture – like muffins or quick breads.  But sometimes I just go with whatever I’m feeling.  Like I’m kind of liking WWPF better right now.  Shhh…don’t tell WWWF.  When substituting it for white, all-purpose flour in recipes, I replace it cup for cup.

Have you used whole wheat pastry flour?  What do you think?

35 Responses to “Whole Wheat Pastry Flour”


  1. 1 eatingbender January 7, 2009 at 11:52 pm

    I’ve used whole wheat flour but not the pastry. I knew there was a difference, but wasn’t sure what it was exactly. Thanks for enlightening me :)

  2. 2 Amy January 8, 2009 at 12:01 am

    I’ve used it once or twice, but never seem to have it on hand when I really need it. I try to convince myself that its not necessary (hence why I’m a bad baker), but it sounds like there IS actually a difference between WWWF and WWPF! I’ll have to stock up on some.

  3. 3 FollowMyWeigh January 8, 2009 at 12:25 am

    i’ve never used either, thanks for the lesson! next time i get flour i think i’ll try out the WWPF

  4. 4 HangryPants January 8, 2009 at 12:37 am

    I love baking with WWPF! It’s really my favorite thing to use as I think it tricks people who assume wheat baked good are too healthy to be good! I’ve found it makes baked goods lighter and maybe a little softer.

    When I made gingerbread with WWPF I couldn’t get the dough tough/firm enough to roll out and cut so I just rolled them into balls!

  5. 5 Sharon January 8, 2009 at 1:00 am

    Wow, sneaky! And I never knew about that, so thanks for sharing all that great information!

  6. 6 VeggieGirl January 8, 2009 at 9:00 am

    I used to love using WW pastry flour; but now it’s just gluten-free flour for me.

  7. 7 Mariposa January 8, 2009 at 2:42 pm

    im with veggie girl on that one! i use sweet rice flour or tapioca flour to get that “lighter fluffier” texture! I love tapioca flour!!

  8. 8 Mel January 8, 2009 at 8:12 pm

    I love whole wheat pastry flour, especially for cakes and cookies. I’ve made so many batches of things like for people who wouldn’t touch whole wheat bread, but gobbled up whole wheat cookies!

  9. 9 healthy ashley January 8, 2009 at 9:37 pm

    I love that you have baking supplies in your bedroom! I live in a TINY apartment, too, so I can relate.

    When baking I’ve always used 2/3 whole wheat flour and 1/3 white… but I should definitely try the pastry flour!

  10. 10 Erin January 8, 2009 at 9:38 pm

    THANK YOU for explaining the difference! I’ve been so confused by this! I only have WWPF because I don’t really bake anymore, but occasionally I used it when WWWF is called for – now I know when it’s appropriate (or not) to do that. :)

  11. 11 cassandra January 8, 2009 at 9:49 pm

    I have never tried WWPF or WWF before, I don’t bake much but your previous carrot cake looks so good I am getting the itch to bake!

  12. 12 Bridget January 8, 2009 at 10:14 pm

    I love to use whole wheat pastry flour- I think it gives baked goods a much better texture than regular WW flour, especially for people who don’t like things too “wheaty”!

  13. 13 ttfn300 January 8, 2009 at 10:25 pm

    i was wondering about the protein content between www and ww pastry! I’ve used them both and loved the results, most of the time no one is the wiser :) unless the color is a little off…

  14. 14 gina (fitnessista) January 8, 2009 at 10:54 pm

    i’ve used both but don’t really have a preference.. the wwpf is so light and fluffy though!
    thanks for all of the info!
    have a wonderful night :D

  15. 15 sweetandnatural January 8, 2009 at 10:54 pm

    eatingbender – You should definitely give WWPF a try. It’s SO much better than regular whole wheat flour!

    Amy – There is a difference! I still use them almost interchangeably, but technically, they’re not the same.

    FollowMyWeigh – That would be a good decision. :-)

    HangryPants – WWPF is my favorite flour so far too! I’m so glad to have discovered it.

    Sharon – “I fear you are underestimating my sneakiness.” Virtual high five to whoever can name the movie that quote’s from!

    VeggieGirl – Which gives you wonderful baked goods as well!

    Mariposa – I’ve never used tapioca flour, but I really want to try brown rice flour.

    Mel – I think whole wheat flour works really well in cookies. The nutty flavor is perfect!

    healthy ashley – The sacrifices you make to live in New York City!

    Erin – I tend to think using WWPF instead of WWWF works better than the other way around, so if you only want one flour around the house, that’s a good one to have!

    cassandra – Let me know what you think if you try one of them!

    Bridget – Totally agree. The taste is subtler too.

    ttfn300 – Yep – like Sharon said, very sneaky!

  16. 16 Andrea [bella eats] January 8, 2009 at 11:11 pm

    Thanks for the great info, Ashley! I’ve often pondered the difference between WWWF and WWPF…I haven’t used WWPF in quite some time, but am planning to pick some up this weekend to experiment with. Maybe I’ll bake a cake!!! :)

  17. 17 Joie de vivre January 8, 2009 at 11:37 pm

    I have used whole wheat pastry flour for pancakes. I loved it. The pancakes were still light and yet I felt good they were whole wheat.

  18. 18 Bridget January 9, 2009 at 2:32 pm

    I have a canister of white whole wheat flour, as well as reg. whole wheat flour, but I don’t think I have seen the WWPF much!! If I do I am def. buying it. I try to make almost all my baked goods with whole grains now…its rare I use APF, unless its a little mixed in with WWWF!

  19. 19 dailygoods January 9, 2009 at 2:43 pm

    i just saw your post on carrotsncake’s blog, and me and my friends call each other mom too! hahaha thats so funny :)

  20. 20 Troye January 9, 2009 at 2:54 pm

    I LOVE both flours. I also use both whole wheat red flour (a hard wheat) and whole wheat white flour (also a hard flour)- different tastes though- as well as whole wheat soft white flour for baked goods. Did anyone say that variety is the spice of life?
    I love to make cinnamon rolls with my whole wheat soft white flour. I use sucanot or molasses granuals as my sweetener. My children think it is the best treat in the world

  21. 21 Lindsay January 9, 2009 at 3:29 pm

    i love whole wheat pastry flour – i think it makes for the best scones :)

    by the way i LOVED your comment about how you eat right to stay healthy but workout to stay FIT :) such a great point!

  22. 22 sweetandnatural January 9, 2009 at 3:59 pm

    Andrea [bella eats] – Can’t wait to see your cake!

    Joie de vivre - WWPF pancakes sound wonderful. :-)

    Bridget - Do you have a Whole Foods near you? They definitely have it!

    dailygoods - So we’re not totally crazy! :-P

    Troye - I want one of those cinnamon rolls! I just used Sucanat for the first time last week and I’m already hooked. Look for a post about it soon!

    Lindsay - I’ve actually never made scones…I see a potential baking project in the works! Glad you liked my thoughts. :-)

  23. 23 lauren January 9, 2009 at 4:01 pm

    I used whole wheat pastry flour to make snickerdoodles over Christmas and they came out great – meaning I couldnt tell the difference. I dont think I am going back.

  24. 24 Angela January 9, 2009 at 4:18 pm

    Wow thank you for explaining this to me.
    I love how much stuff I learn with every post that you do.

    I never knew that about WWPF- I will certainly be buying some soon!

    Angela
    http://www.ohsheglows.com

  25. 25 Raspberry Runner January 9, 2009 at 5:02 pm

    where do you find wwpf? i’ve never seen it in stores!

  26. 26 sweetandnatural January 11, 2009 at 5:18 pm

    lauren – I’m glad you like it so much too! I won’t go back either. :-)

    Angela – Definitely go get some – you’ll love it!

    Raspberry Runner – Do you have a Whole Foods nearby? They for sure have it.

  27. 27 Lindsey (Mrs. LC) January 11, 2009 at 7:18 pm

    I LOVE using WWPF! Probably my favorite white flour substitute. :) If I know I’m baking for a pickier eater who doesn’t like whole wheat flour because it’s so much coarser, I’ll definitely use WWPF. Love it!

  28. 28 Anita Stein September 20, 2009 at 11:19 am

    Just chanced upon your site and am so grateful I did! For the first time, I know about WWPF, and I’ll buy some today (previously I tossed out a bag of WWRF, as it produced a terrible-tasting pie). However, my question pertains to using flour – AP or WWPF or WWRF – to mix my own self-rising flour to use in some English baking recipes. I just bought a book originally published in England, and many recipes call for self-rising flour, plus additional baking powder. Apparently, American-style and English-style self-rising flours differ in protein and salt content, so I can’t just use American-style self-rising flour.

    Can you offer a suggested recipe to concoct English-style self-rising flour using American flour (and if so, which flour would be best), and would I still add additional baking powder to this concoction, or leave it out? It is true, though, that some recipes in the book call for the same amount of self-rising flour, but less or more baking powder.

    Thanks for your time and help!

    • 29 sweetandnatural October 7, 2009 at 2:57 pm

      Anita Stein – Hmm…I don’t have any personal experience with self-rising flour or the difference between American and UK flours. However, I did find a site that might be helpful – http://www.practicallyedible.com/edible.nsf/Pages/flour. It says that flour in the UK tends to be moister than North American flour, so when making North American recipes using UK flour, reserve some of the liquid in the recipe to see if it’s really needed. I’m assuming the reverse is also true? So you could just use American self-rising flour and add extra liquid as needed? Hope that helps a little!

  29. 30 ANUSKA November 29, 2009 at 2:31 pm

    When a recipe calls for AP flour can the same amount of WWPF be substituted?

    Thanks so much.

  30. 32 daphne January 1, 2010 at 9:08 am

    Can you please tell me where I can obtain WHITE WHOLE WHEAT flour in the UK. I am allergic to REFINED white flour, but can eat items made with white wholewheat flour.

    many thanks

    • 33 sweetandnatural January 3, 2010 at 3:00 pm

      daphne – I’m not familiar with UK food stores, but I would suggest looking at Whole Foods if there’s one near you or a local health store. Also, if refined flour is the problem, look for whole wheat pastry flour as well – I love that stuff!

  31. 34 Dave Rado February 25, 2012 at 8:10 am

    Can you even make things like authentic tasting croissants and ciabattas using white wholemeal pastry flour?

  32. 35 Dave Rado February 25, 2012 at 8:12 am

    Can you make authentic tasting very light pastries such as strudels using white wholemeal pastry flour?


Comments are currently closed.



Contact

ashley.sweetandnatural@gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter!


Quantcast

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 130 other followers

