Walnut Chocolate Chip Spelt Cookies

cimg2745-1

I finally did it.

I jumped on the Dreena Burton bandwagon! And let me just say how happy I am to be here. The woman is a genius I tell you.

It’s not like I was avoiding Dreena and her recipes. She’s ALL over the blog world, and I’ve done my fair share of oohing and ahhing over her creations. But I’m careful with my pennies and always felt I should make more use of the cookbooks I have before purchasing new ones. I guess that belief slipped my mind when I saw eat, drink + be vegan at the bookstore the other day. I knew I had to have it. So into my collection it went!

The first ed+bv recipe I set my sights on was for the infamous Super-Charge Me! Cookies. OMG – they were like little balls of nutritious crack. I would have loved to share them with you all, but since Dreena hadn’t posted the recipe on her site, no dice! So to celebrate my newfound Dreena love, I found another one of her cookie recipes that was on the internet to modify and write about.

cimg2733-1

Oh, and wouldn’t you know, Dreena posted the Super-Charge Me! Cookie recipe this week? Go figure!  Or go make them.  You won’t regret it.

Anyway…

Here’s the recipe I followed to make Walnut Chocolate Chip Spelt Cookies:

1 cup spelt flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 cup Sucanat

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/3 cup maple syrup

1/4 teaspoon molasses

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/4 cup vegetable oil

1/3 cup grain sweetened chocolate chips

1/3 cup chopped walnuts

Preheat the oven to 350*F. In a large bowl, mix together spelt flour, baking powder, baking soda, Sucanat and salt. In a separate bowl, stir together maple syrup, molasses, vanilla extract and canola oil until well combined. Add wet ingredients to dry ingredients and mix until just combined. Stir in chocolate chips and walnuts. Place spoonfuls of batter on cookie sheets and bake for 10-11 minutes. Makes 12 cookies.

cimg2747-1

These cookies were YUM! After tasting my Maple Almond Butter Cookies and these, I am convinced that maple syrup = cookie perfection. It really adds a depth of flavor and keeps cookies wonderfully moist and gooey. Seriously, that stuff’s not just for pancakes.

The only thing I’d change about this recipe next time around is leaving the molasses out. I’m not buying that 1/4 teaspoon is making a huge difference when spread throughout 12 cookies. I mean, really, that’s 1/48 teaspoon in 1 cookie. You know? Other than that, A+.

What’s your favorite chocolate chip cookie recipe?

cimg2743-1

49 Responses to “Walnut Chocolate Chip Spelt Cookies”


  1. 1 Sharon April 30, 2009 at 9:26 pm

    Oh my gosh, I want cookies!

  2. 2 HelpMeghanRun April 30, 2009 at 9:29 pm

    Oh wow those look delish! Might have to try ‘em… ;)
    www. HelpMeghanRun .com

  3. 3 Kerstin April 30, 2009 at 10:09 pm

    Yum, they look great – I still need to try spelt flour!

  4. 4 raspberryrunner April 30, 2009 at 10:19 pm

    Yum! I agree that maple syrup is wonderful for baking!

    Favorite chocolate chip cookie recipe? There are way too many! I could never choose! However, my favorite chocolate chips are Ghirardeli 60% cacoa chips…I never make chocolate chip cookies without them!

  5. 5 Amy May 1, 2009 at 3:03 am

    Yum Yum. These sound delish

  6. 6 Lauren May 1, 2009 at 7:38 am

    “Little balls of nutritious crack” for sure – Dreena’s Super Charge Me! cookies might be my favorite cookie recipe to date :)

  7. 7 bobbi May 1, 2009 at 3:55 pm

    I am soooo making these this weekend, thanks for sharing!!!

  8. 8 Hangry Pants May 1, 2009 at 4:39 pm

    I am so excited that the super charge me cookie recipe is online!!!!

  9. 9 Hayley May 1, 2009 at 4:51 pm

    These cookies look awesome Ashley! They look so chewy and delicious. I have to try these out. Thanks for sharing, and I’ll check out the super charged recipe too.

  10. 10 Jessica May 2, 2009 at 6:09 am

    yum! I agree, I love using maple syrup in home-baked goods especially cookies :) Delicious!

  11. 11 Emily May 2, 2009 at 4:13 pm

    I don’t have a favorite recipe, but any recipe baked into bars is my favorite!

    http://eatingchalk.wordpress.com

  12. 12 Koko May 2, 2009 at 7:43 pm

    I LOVE DREENA BURTON! So glad you jumped on the bandwagon! For some reason I haven’t tried the Super Charge Me cookies even though I have the books….I’ll have to take your word for it and make them soon! The cookies look great.

  13. 13 Hayley May 3, 2009 at 6:08 pm

    Those look good! I’ve been wanting to play around with spelt flour, and this might be the recipe to try!

  14. 14 Andrea [bella eats] May 3, 2009 at 9:06 pm

    Ashley – These cookies are beautiful! I’ve been conducting some whole-grain, naturally sweetened cookie experiments in my own kitchen and haven’t landed on a recipe I’m thrilled with yet, but this one looks like a winner! I have really enjoyed baking with spelt flour lately though, I think its my new favorite…

    Have a great week!

  15. 15 sweetandnatural May 3, 2009 at 9:21 pm

    Thanks EVERYONE for your chocolate chip cookie love. This was a really good recipe, so I definitely recommend giving it a try. And DEFINITELY check out the Super-Charge Me! Cookies. They are awesome. And you can eat them for breakfast and feel good about it!

  16. 16 Gena May 3, 2009 at 9:57 pm

    My Mom just emailed me asking about spelt! Maybe I can bake these for her birthday, which is one week away!

  17. 17 Mariposa May 5, 2009 at 9:16 am

    oh wow.. these look amazing!! love them!

  18. 18 Danielle May 5, 2009 at 1:52 pm

    Wow those looks so good.
    I haven’t had a fresh baked cookie in way to long!

  19. 19 Oh She Glows May 7, 2009 at 8:11 pm

    I BOUGHT THIS BOOK THIS WEEK TOO!!! bahaha. Love it, I am making these ASAP!

  20. 20 ttfn300 May 7, 2009 at 10:56 pm

    haha, i’d be skeptical of the 1/4t too ;) these look AMAZING!

  21. 21 Danielle May 11, 2009 at 9:43 pm

    Oh my gosh, yum! Welcome to Dreena’s world :)

  22. 22 ashlea May 18, 2009 at 11:30 am

    These look amazing! I am always looking for recipes with healthier flours and no refined sugar. I can’t wait to try these!

  23. 23 Nicole (dishin') May 18, 2009 at 2:27 pm

    These look amazing! Thanks for posting. I also wanted to let you know that I’ve been reading your blog for a while and made the black bean brownies you posted for Mother’s Day. They were fudgy and delicious! Plus, my dad can’t have gluten so he was able to enjoy them too.

  24. 24 spicygranola May 25, 2009 at 5:48 pm

    WOW! Those cookies look so flipping good! I could almost lick my screen, but don’t worry, I will restrain myself. This is why I need an oven.

  25. 25 MissWheatFree June 14, 2009 at 5:40 pm

    I just made these cookies; they turned out GREAT! I was skeptical at first, cookies without egg or a substitute sounded disastrous to me but these are really yummy and crispy. I doubled the recipe and used half whole spelt/half white spelt. I used a rounded tablespoon to drop the dough and ended up with 27 cookies. I will totally make these again!

  26. 26 sweetandnatural June 15, 2009 at 7:51 pm

    Nicole (dishin’) – I’m so glad you enjoyed the brownies! And your family too!

    MissWheatFree – Hooray! They’re super good, right?

  27. 27 Sprouted Kitchen July 22, 2009 at 6:38 pm

    these look AMAZING! i cannot wait to make them, they truly look perfect!

  28. 28 Sophie October 1, 2009 at 3:31 am

    MMMMMMMMMMM,…these cookies look so lovely but do you use normal spelt flour or wholemeal spelt??

  29. 30 winterbamboo April 18, 2010 at 7:19 pm

    i’ve made three patches in two days of these cookies.
    i’m DElighted with them.

  30. 31 Gordon April 26, 2010 at 5:33 pm

    Going to get the stuff right now…can’t wait.

  31. 32 Doireann March 6, 2011 at 1:50 pm

    sound great really wanna make these :P

  32. 33 billie Atkinson April 13, 2011 at 1:13 pm

    what is Sucanat? sugar substitute? why not just use more molasses

  33. 35 raquel July 15, 2011 at 8:28 pm

    I just made a batch yesterday and the kids loved them!! Best of all my niece who has a wheat/gluten allergy did not react. Definitely a keeper! I also added 1 TBSP of flax seeds.

  34. 36 Emily September 12, 2011 at 10:19 pm

    I put 1/4 c. molasses in them, and they were FABULOUS! I’m on a restrictive diet and used a 1 banana and a 1/4 C. applesauce for the oil – and I’m telling you, these are my new favorite cookie!

  35. 37 Kathy @ Kgrains October 17, 2011 at 2:16 pm

    To die for!! I added a tad more flour, since mine was fresh milled, and used pecans since the family is not crazy about walnuts. Great recipe!!

  36. 38 Marcelina Waldron April 14, 2012 at 3:15 am

    While using Microsoft windows eight Consumer Preview becoming delivered this weeks time, most people wanted to find a perception with precisely what new advancements the modern OS gives to the globe of netbooks and also Microsoft windows tablets.

  37. 39 mrkibbles May 22, 2012 at 9:45 pm

    Mmmm sooo good!!! I have long been in love with maple syrup in cookies.
    I would say my favorite kind of cookie is a coconut macaroon…

  38. 40 Yupe June 8, 2012 at 12:26 pm

    Honestly the best cookies ever. I make them all the the time, and making cookies with white flour seriously just doesn’t do it for me anymore after trying these things. SCORE! She is so right about the maple syrup factor YOU NEEEEEED SPELT FLOUR AND MAPLE SYRUP IN THESE OR THEY ARE NOT THE SAME AT ALL, NOT EVEN CLOSE TO BEING AS GOOD. accept no substitutes

  39. 41 Cassie February 28, 2013 at 9:41 pm

    You’re so awesome! I don’t think I’ve truly read anything like that before. So nice to find somebody with a few genuine thoughts on this subject. Seriously.. thanks for starting this up. This site is one thing that is needed on the internet, someone with some originality!

  40. 42 Shandra Grace May 16, 2013 at 1:00 am

    Thank you for a wonderful recipe, I pinned it on my pinterest (makeupfaerie16)- to my board Delicious Food Ideas. Had to change the recipe around a little because I didn’t have enough sugar, I posted the details with the pin. :)


  1. 1 Topics about Chocolate | Walnut Chocolate Chip Spelt Cookies « Sweet & Natural Trackback on May 1, 2009 at 1:08 pm
  2. 2 Oh She Glows » Blog Archive » Ashley: Sweet and Natural Trackback on June 5, 2009 at 12:10 pm
  3. 3 Best of the best: Spelt Chocolate Chip Cookies « Vanilla Morning Trackback on August 14, 2009 at 9:57 am
  4. 4 Cookies Recipes Trackback on February 22, 2010 at 1:49 am
  5. 5 “no more cookies!” « A Fresh Dille Trackback on June 15, 2010 at 1:27 am
  6. 6 it doesn't get old | Spelt Walnut Dark Chocolate Chip Cookies | Food Loves Writing Trackback on July 5, 2010 at 8:57 am
  7. 7 Spelt Baking Links | From An Irish Oven Trackback on May 15, 2011 at 11:17 am
Comments are currently closed.



Contact

ashley.sweetandnatural@gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter!


Quantcast

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 122 other followers

