Chocolate Avocado Mousse

CIMG2763-1

Guess what?

My oven broke.

Ha! I think this was its way of getting back at me for my negligence these past couple of weeks. I already knew it was temperamental, but this takes sensitivity to a whole new level. You don’t want to use me? Fine, I’ll stop working. A little passive aggressive, no?

So that’s getting fixed. But in the meantime, I couldn’t leave you all hanging with no new recipe! So today I’m sharing a sweet treat that requires no oven. Now I know this is a “baking” blog, but I personally would rather have a no-baked treat than no treat at all. So let’s roll with it.

Last summer, I came across this recipe for chocolate mousse made from avocados, or – in Jason Mraz The Creator’s words – chocomole. Cute name, right? I was instantly intrigued. It was right after a beach vacation where my friends and I made a GINORMOUS bowl of guacamole and proceeded to devour it quicker than I thought humanly possible that we really enjoyed. My friend, Kristen, Co-Guacamole Maker Extraordinaire, spotted the chocomole recipe the same day and forwarded it to me. It was clearly a must-try. So when I thought about making a no-bake sweet, guess what immediately came to mind?

CIMG2765-1

The recipe is SUPER easy and all you need is a food processor to make it happen. But! It is pretty vague about how much of each ingredient to use. So I got to Googling and found a billion different versions, including one by the lovely Gena. Most of them seemed to suggest the same taste, adjust, taste, adjust process as Mr. Mraz. So that’s what I did – and I’m quite pleased with how it turned out!

You can add some extra sweetness if you’d like – agave nectar or maple syrup would be great and make it nice and smoooooth! – but I just wanted to keep the recipe as simple as possible.  Plus I think it’s really cool that there’s absolutely no added sweetener in this version.  This really is health food my friends.  

Here’s my Chocolate Avocado Mousse:

1 avocado

8 Medjool dates, chopped

1/4 cup cocoa powder

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Place all ingredients in food processor. Blend, blend, blend – scraping sides when necessary – until smooth. That’s it! Makes 2-3 servings.

CIMG2762-1

I loooooved this. It was so thick and fudgy. I am amazed at how so few and healthy – and maybe odd? – ingredients can come together to create something so delicious. Will definitley be making this again and again.

Have you ever made a sweet treat from avocado?

CIMG2758-1

41 Responses to “Chocolate Avocado Mousse”


  1. 1 Ellen (Peace in Motion) May 28, 2009 at 5:11 pm

    Ashley that looks delicious! I can not wait to make this for my roommates. Both HUGE fans of anything chocolate or avocado, I doubt this will last longer than your guacamole did with your friends!

  2. 2 Jessica May 28, 2009 at 5:59 pm

    Yummy! I just heard about avocado ice cream today on Sirius radio channel 112.

  3. 3 Marianne May 28, 2009 at 6:21 pm

    I have a bunch of avocados in my fridge, and this would be a perfect way to use them. Alas, I’m out of medjools! It does look quite decadent though :)

  4. 4 CurlyTop May 28, 2009 at 6:47 pm

    Ashley,

    Hi! I found your blog through Gena’s blogroll and I’m having so much fun looking through your past posts. I totally love your whole foods approach. I’m trying to incorporate more of that into my own diet. Plus you sound like a darling girl. :D

    This recipe is great. I only recently tried my first avacado and I’m now officially obsessed…

    Have a gorgeous night sweetie!

    With Love,

    Emily

  5. 5 Tyler May 28, 2009 at 9:10 pm

    oh my gosh! i have a recipe for chocolate avocado mousse from Shape magazine that I’ve been meaning to make for months!!! Your version looks delicious! Chocolate and avocados are two of my favorite things :)

  6. 6 ttfn300 May 28, 2009 at 9:13 pm

    lovely! i have done an avocado pie (from pinch my salt) and chocolate pate (from diet, dessert & dogs)

  7. 7 Gena May 28, 2009 at 9:21 pm

    Aaaaaaaaaaaah!!! Amazing!!! I am so psyched that you tried it, Ash! Welcome to the raw food world…xoxo

  8. 8 Kerstin May 28, 2009 at 9:57 pm

    I keep seeing treats made from avocados but haven’t tried one yet. I think you’ve convinced me though, it looks so decadent! We always have avocados around too1

  9. 9 luckytastebuds May 28, 2009 at 10:33 pm

    wow! That is one good looking sweet treat!! I’ve tried an avocado bubble tea from a restauarant called JOy Yees here in Chicago, and it surprise me by how much it tasted like melon!!!! GOSH now i gotta try this mousse!

  10. 10 Amy May 29, 2009 at 12:27 am

    Yum! I’ve made one like this before but love that this is just sweetened with dates. I would’ve liked it even more if I knew Jason Mraz did. I love him!

  11. 11 sweetandnatural May 29, 2009 at 9:26 am

    Ellen (Peace in Motion) – Let me know what they think!

    Jessica – Ooh – delicious!

    Marianne – Try using maple syrup or agave nectar – or any other sweetener! – in place of the dates. I’m sure it would turn out just fine!

    CurlyTop – Welcome! You’re so sweet! I’m glad you’re enjoying reading through my posts. :-)

    Tyler – Make it! It will not disappoint!

    ttfn300 – I bet the pie was amazing!

    Gena – I loved it! And, of course, thought of you while eating it. :-)

    Kerstin – I say go for it! Let me know what you make!

    luckytastebuds – I remember Joy Yee’s from college! :-)

    Amy – The dates made the mousse sweet enough for me, but some people might prefer extra sweetener.

  12. 12 Angela May 29, 2009 at 10:05 am

    HOT DAYUM woman!!!

    I’m so sorry about your oven! :( Maybe more raw food is in store for you?

  13. 13 Jenn@slim-shoppin May 29, 2009 at 11:55 am

    Sorry about your stove, that stinks!

    I love the mouse though! I think I will try to make it and not tell my family what’s in it! It seems so simple!

  14. 14 Alison May 29, 2009 at 3:16 pm

    I bet avocado and coconut milk would go well together.
    I actually hate avocado, but your mousse looks wonderful. If I liked avocadoes, I’d try it :-)

  15. 15 Meghan Telpner May 29, 2009 at 6:34 pm

    Doesn’t look like you’re suffering too much without an oven.

  16. 16 peacelovepb May 29, 2009 at 6:47 pm

    wow that looks amazing!
    i love how healthy all of your recipes are!

  17. 17 sweetandnatural May 30, 2009 at 9:56 am

    Angela - Perhaps! :-)

    Jenn@slim-shoppin - They will never know!

    Alison - You can’t taste the avocado at all!

    Meghan Telpner - I do what I can. :-)

    peacelovepb - Thanks!

  18. 18 Hayley May 30, 2009 at 7:32 pm

    I saw this same recipe in Vegetarian Times, and wanted in. I have yet to try it out, so thanks for the reminder. It looks amazing!

  19. 19 Elina May 30, 2009 at 10:15 pm

    Oh yeah, sounds awesome! A non baked good is better than nothing for sure! I’ve added avocado to my sweet oats – does that count? :) I’m saving this recipe… it will definitely freak out my husband. Love it. Haha.

  20. 20 Danielle May 31, 2009 at 11:43 am

    A match made in heaven?!?! Sounds dangerous ;)

  21. 21 ASHLEA May 31, 2009 at 7:21 pm

    Yikes! I have to say I am a little scared of this! I love love love both chocolat and avocado but I have never have thought of them together!!! I’m definitely going to have to try this!

  22. 22 Heather (be well & take care) May 31, 2009 at 7:58 pm

    YESSS. I love avocado in dessert recipes but so rarely use them because I’d rather be eating guacamole. However, I think this has reminded me to make some avo-choco-mousse soon. Looks so delicious!

  23. 23 Amelia May 31, 2009 at 8:05 pm

    Very intriguing! I think I have to try this!

  24. 24 sweetandnatural June 1, 2009 at 12:33 am

    Hayley – Definitely do!

    Elina – It can be our little secret. :-)

    Danielle – Delicious is more like it!

    ASHLEA – You can’t taste the avocado at all! It just makes the mousse nice and creamy.

    Heather (be well & take care) - Let me know what you think!

    Amelia – Do it! Do it!

  25. 25 Jane June 3, 2009 at 12:56 pm

    I tried making your crumbly peanut butter oat bars the other night- AMAZING! They are seriously so good- my co-worker said “these remind me of peanut butter sticks (some processed dessert) of my childhood only without the lard!” that’s a compliment, trust me ;)

  26. 26 Danielle June 3, 2009 at 2:19 pm

    What a perfect sweet treat for the summer when it’s too hot to bake!

  27. 27 Stacy June 5, 2009 at 1:22 pm

    I’m new to the blog, but boy did I come in on the right post. That sounds amazing!!

  28. 28 Stacy June 9, 2009 at 10:45 am

    I just had to make a slightly different version of this after seeing it. Looked waaaaaaaaaay to tasty not to try. It was awesome! Thanks!

  29. 29 Erin June 14, 2009 at 8:30 pm

    WHOA! That looks so good! I’m kinda glad your oven broke! ;)

  30. 30 Koko June 19, 2009 at 10:16 am

    Oooh! I have heard of a recipe like this and I’m dieing to try it! I’ll definately favourite this page and I can’t wait until I have a chance to make it!

  31. 31 charlene July 1, 2009 at 12:01 pm

    Hmm..I love avocados and chocolate..must try!

    Cute blog, I love the recipes you are posting. I will be following from mine :)

    Have a great day!
    Char

  32. 32 Jo July 15, 2009 at 8:35 am

    I have a recipe from Gillian McKeith (UK healthy nutritionist) which uses avocados to make a lemon moussey pudding which is delish! Would you like the recipe?

  33. 33 Laurel Alanna McBrine September 13, 2009 at 6:05 pm

    I make a similar mousse (absolutely fabulous) but my ingredients are different: agave nectar to sweeten, coconut milk and more avocados! I will post it once I get a photo of the finished product. Around here you have to act fast or it is all gone. I think I will try using the medjool dates next time instead of the agave, so thanks for the idea!

  34. 34 Michele with one L September 28, 2009 at 10:45 pm

    I make a chocolate pudding with avocados. It’s raw and delicious! It’s 2 bananas, 1 avocado, 3 tbls. cacao powder, 2 tbls. agave and vanilla bean.

  35. 35 Kristin (Food: Fashion Meets Function) February 22, 2010 at 3:35 pm

    I added avocados to my green smoothie last night and wasn’t a huge fan of the texture for an apple tasting drink. It did, however, seem like an amazing texture for dessert. Can’t wait to try this tonight!!!

  36. 36 CHOCOHOLIC April 21, 2010 at 5:13 am

    chocolate and avo?
    at first i was like no way…unspeakably weird recipe, but, since i read the other comments i made it, and WOWWWWOOWOWOWOWOWOWOWOWZZZZAAA it was fantabulus- perfect texture, flavour and sweetness!!!
    lovely darlings:):):):):):):):):):):):):)

  37. 37 Katy April 22, 2010 at 1:06 am

    Just made the dessert in about 5 minutes. Have tried an avacado and chocolate recipe before, being I typically have those two ingredients in my house. Absolutely love your recipe. I substituted the cocoa powder with melted chocolate chips and added a little rum to the mix. YUMMY! Thanks for the recipe. I’ll enjoy making this often and will continue to frequenting your site for more great ideas.

    p.s. If you need a great place to store your recipes for future use, check out http://www.blueskypapers.com. I have bought a few of their keepsake books and absolutely love the quality and craftsmanship that go into them. I have a friend who bought the recipe keepsake book for her daughter’s wedding and said it turned out great. Thanks again for your inspirationally raw recipe!

  38. 38 Mallory September 7, 2010 at 11:44 pm

    I just made it and it turned out well but only had a blender available to use not a food processor. It took a little longer with the blender but I think it came out the same (maybe a little chunkier). I didn’t realize the cocoa I bought was unsweetened and the dates do not sweeten it enough for me personally so I am going to add a little powdered sugar and see how that works.
    Great recipe overall though from other chocomole recipes I’ve seen :)

  39. 39 Debbiee January 30, 2011 at 9:22 am

    I make that exact mousse all the time. Another great one is raspberry mousse. I buy 40 pounds of frozen raspberries at a time. (Which makes them affordable) I just add a cup or so to my avocado with stevia to sweeten. Awesome! I tried other berries put the raspberries were by far the best. I use my Vitamix for this job I’m done and cleaned up in less than 5 minutes. I take this for my lunch or have it for a quick breakfast.

  40. 40 Paynerdeecer October 10, 2011 at 9:44 am

    I’m on my way to get an avocado!! Can’t wait to try this! :)


  1. 1 Erin: Avocado, I ain’t mad atcha « Care to Eat Trackback on June 23, 2009 at 1:09 pm
Comments are currently closed.



Contact

ashley.sweetandnatural@gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter!


Quantcast

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 130 other followers

