Brown Rice Flour

She’s alive!!!

I hope you guys are still out there.

So I’ve been super MIA for the past few weeks!  Many apologies to you, but I promise it is not without good excuse.  I’ve been traveling like a mad women – for work and for play.  And my time actually in NYC has been devoted to apartment hunting.  For my non-New-York friends, let me tell you that this is a job in and of itself.   I adore this city, but looking for a home here is like nothing you will ever experience.  Very stressful and exhausting and you have to act FAST or your potential digs will be snatched up in the blink of an eye! 

Great news though!  I found my new place and signed the lease on Friday.  West Village here I come!  Could not be more thrilled.  Imagine walking out of your building to this…

CIMG2952

Le sigh.  So quintessential West Village.

Alright, enough about me and my obsession with my new hood.  Let’s talk about brown rice flour!

Brown Rice

BRF is ground from brown rice kernels.  Duh. The grains are harvested and then dried so they can be processed in the mill. Most mills make their BRF with a coarse grind, so the flour is slightly grainy and gritty.  You can feel the difference between BRF and whole wheat just by grabbing a handful of each and letting them slip between your fingers.  Try it!

You’ll get a mild, nutty flavor to your baked goodies when using BRF.  It’s also high in fiber, vitamins and minerals.  Love it.

BRF is entirely gluten-free.  Because of this, it does not behave exactly like wheat, so bakers like us should be ready to experiment with proportions and grain mixtures.  Now, I’m not an expert whatsoever in baking with this ingredient, so here’s where I ask for your help! 

Do you guys have any brown rice flour baking tips for me?  I’ve heard about adding gums – xanthan or guar – but have no clue how to do it or if I really have to!  Tell me what I need to know!

19 Responses to “Brown Rice Flour”


  1. 1 VeggieGirl July 19, 2009 at 1:10 pm

    Congratulations on signing the lease!!!! Whoo hoo!!! :-D

  2. 2 Iris July 19, 2009 at 9:08 pm

    Haven’t quite started the gluten-free baking yet. You should head over to Karina’s Kitchen. I’m sure she’s got an answer for you somewhere on her blog. And yeah, apt. hunting in NYC is ridiculous! Congrats on finding a place in the West Village!

  3. 3 MarathonVal July 19, 2009 at 10:11 pm

    Your new place looks fabulous! Congrats!

  4. 4 Hangry Pants July 20, 2009 at 7:10 am

    Never used brown rice flour. I will let you know if I do.

    And I completely understand the craziness of finding a NY apartment. Everything else takes a back seat. Looks like you found a lovely neighborhood.

  5. 5 foodnfit July 21, 2009 at 2:19 pm

    Congrats! I love NYC!

  6. 6 Happy Herbivore July 22, 2009 at 8:09 am

    just you wait. come fall I’ll have so many corn-flour baked goods I’ll be begging you to take them off my hands. it’s a real problem. I cant stop making corn bread the second a chill in the air hits! :) so glad to have met you!

  7. 7 Happy Herbivore July 22, 2009 at 8:10 am

    oh and my fave use of brown flour is to make baked onion rings. random, I know. email me for the recipe.

  8. 8 Ada Rubin July 22, 2009 at 8:42 am

    Hey! I’m a fellow NYCer, so I understand what you had to go through in apartment hunting. I’m glad you found such a cute place!

  9. 9 Diana (Soap & Chocolate) July 22, 2009 at 10:30 am

    SO jealous of your new digs! Your Super Charge Me cookies were off the hook, btw – thanks so much for bringing them last night! …did they have brown rice flour in them? :)

  10. 10 Angela (Oh She Glows) July 23, 2009 at 10:29 pm

    Congrats on the new pad!!! =)

    Havent tried cooking with BRF yet too scared…
    I have Xanthum gum that I used in gluten free brownies though. They were…’eh’…

  11. 11 elise July 24, 2009 at 10:11 pm

    honestly, your new hood COULDNT be cuter. i had so much fun the other night, you better be ready for many a blogger get togethers…hopefully the toilet will hold up better at your apt.

    im going to have to get E, D & BV for the super charge me recipe bc your cookies were SO SO good :)

  12. 12 healthy ashley July 25, 2009 at 11:14 am

    Glad you’re still there!

    And I am 100% jealous of your new place! Congratulations!!

  13. 13 Emmy July 27, 2009 at 2:09 pm

    Hi Ashely! I LOVE your website – youre recipes are so awesome and I also totally loved the flour comparrison thing you did with the muffins. That is exactly the sort of thing I would like to do, but (theoretically at least!) dont have the time. Anyway, I was actually wondering if I could be the cheekiest person ever and set you a sort of challenge… to find a recipe which creates a ‘Nana’ esque cookie! Do you know the ones I mean (I feel you must)…? They are refined sugar free vegan cookies – which also come in wheat and gluten free, but dont worry about that for now :)- and they are AMAZING. They are so incredibly hearty, tasty and totally dont seem to even raise my blood sugar at all – they actually leave me feeling calmer! Unfortunately they are also pretty astounding in price – especially if you live in the UK and have to buy them imported – UGH! I LOVE them so much but I seriously dont earn enough to feed my fetish – is there any way you can help out? Before I have to start stealing them and end up in Jail :) – I’d owe you bigtime! Once again love the website! Big Love Emmy

  14. 14 Jenn (eating bender) July 28, 2009 at 11:30 am

    I’ve missed you, Ashley! Congrats on the new digs – the view looks pretty sensational :)

    I hear you’re coming over Labor Day – I’m going to be visiting my fam in AZ :( How long will you be here? We have to make it work somehow – I’m determined!

  15. 15 Meghan Telpner July 29, 2009 at 8:28 am

    I use guar gum with my brown rice flour. I have also found in any gluten-free baking that it is helpful to mix up the flours. Where a recipe calls for one cup I usually do half brown rice and have buckwheat, sorghum, chickpea or quinoa. Using 1/3 of three also works well.

  16. 16 sweetandnatural August 2, 2009 at 9:46 pm

    Thanks all for your words of congrats! I’m super excited.

    Emmy – Of course I know the cookies you’re referring to! They are indeed delish. I will definitely keep your challenge in mind – and feel so flattered that you thought to challenge me! – but will be honest with you and say that I don’t have a lot of free time to devote to cookie replication! In the meantime, may I suggest you check out my Maple Almond Butter Cookies? They sort of remind me of Nana’s in terms of denseness and chewiness. Make them extra big or throw in some chocolate chips to add a special touch. :-)

    http://sweetandnatural.wordpress.com/2009/02/24/maple-almond-butter-cookies/

    Jenn – Check your e-mail!

    Meghan Telpner – Thanks for the tips!

  17. 17 luc8 September 7, 2009 at 12:50 pm

    Hi there! just stopping in to say thanks for your blog! I’m new to the blogging world but so pleasantly surprised to see what a wonderful community of people comes together here! I love you work and will look forward to reading more — keep it up, and drop by sometime to let me know what’s up! Be well and take care, Lucca.

  18. 18 The Foodie Diaries September 19, 2009 at 10:10 am

    Congrats on the West Village apt!! So exciting! I just found your bloggie and love it! Can’t wait to keep reading!

    Sarah

  19. 19 Ashley October 31, 2009 at 10:53 pm

    Hi Ashley! I am also an Ashley =) I just stumbled on your blog and love it. The brownies at the top look UHmazing. I am a LOVER of sucanat =) I just made an awesome pumpkin bread tonight using sucanat as the sweetener..so good! I haven’t used brown rice flour for anything yet, but I have used brown rice syrup in a few baked goods recipes. It’s a great sweetener because it keeps your glycemic index level from spiking unlike other sugars, honey, maple syrup, etc. Give it a try sometime if you haven’t yet! Take care!


Comments are currently closed.



Contact

ashley.sweetandnatural@gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter!


Quantcast

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 130 other followers

