Ashley + Dan’s European Vacation: Part II – Nice

Barcelona was fantastically fun, but after the constant go-go-go, Dan and I were really looking forward to being lazy relaxing for a couple of days in…NICE!

We took a late flight and were greeted with this view from our hotel room.

DSC_0218

Which in the morning, looked like this.

DSC_0222

I kid you not!  That is what we got to ogle at everyday!  I had to pinch myself every so often to make sure it was real.  Gorgeous.

There aren’t many “sites” to see in Nice, and that was fine by us.  Nothing to do and no where to be.  It truly felt like we had not a care in the world!  Our days were basically filled with (1) sleeping, (2) eating, (3) walking around town, (4) reading and (5) doing crosswords.  Yes, we are crossword nerds.  Here’s Dan diligently working on one in our room.

DSC_0393

We spent the majority of our time outside the hotel exploring Old Nice.  It’s just how you’d imagine an area called “Old” Nice to be – brimming with narrow streets and worn buildings and tiny restaurants and adorable boutiques.  Some of it is touristy, but most is just gushing with charm.

DSC_0342

That’s Dan in the Adidas shirt.  He didn’t stand out at all.

DSC_0297

Cookies in one of the bakery windows!

DSC_0294

Our lunches – mmm…crêpes and croque monsieurs – each day were enjoyed at bistros in the Place Rosetti, a cute little square lined with restaurants and filled with tables and chairs for patrons to eat en plein air.

DSC_0241

DSC_0277

Dinners – mmm…goat cheese and ratatouille risotto – were had on the Cours Saleya.

DSC_0350

DSC_0349

DSC_0360

That was the Cours Saleya by night – a long strip full of diners pouring out of restaurant doors and vendors selling jewelry and art work.  But during the day, the Cours Saleya is a wonderful flower and food market.  Tons of fresh fruit and vegetables, spices, cheeses, bread, etc.  Smaller than La Boqueria, but no less festive!

DSC_0377

DSC_0380

DSC_0381

Remember the ginormous date?  Look at this teeny strawberry!

DSC_0390

Since we’re on the topic of food, I will not hide that fact that Nice is where Dan and I began our Excessive Gelato Consumption.  Now I normally avoid dairy for tummy pleasantry reasons, but how often am I on the continent that created gelato?  For the remainder of the trip, we enjoyed it each and every day.  At times, twice a day.  At other times, twice in a ROW!  Umm…we were on vacation?

Our favorite gelato stop was Glacier Fennochio.

DSC_0280

Lots and lots of interesting flavors like honey and pine nuts, milk flower and almond, spiced bread, and iced chestnut.  But good ole chocolat was my favorite – SO deliciously rich.  Like nothing I had ever had.  Which makes sense, according to the sign out front.

DSC_0282

“Allways imitated never reached.”  Agreed.

Oh, Nice wasn’t all about eating ourselves into extreme bliss.  A little exercise was involved as well.  At least for Dan.  He’s a swimmer and jumped at the chance to take a dip in the Mediterranean .  I read on the beach and took pictures of the rocky shore while he did his fishy thing.

DSC_0312

Our hotel!  It’s the red and cream colored building on the left.

DSC_0300

Closer up.

DSC_0304

Très français.

Some other fun things we saw include Nice Port…

DSC_0400

…a big fountain…

DSC_0330

…ourselves!…

DSC_0317

…and a group of children happily riding a carousel with “Sexual Healing” playing in the background.  Pretty standard.

DSC_0318

Don’t you worry, we didn’t forget about our European dog capturing project in Nice.  That city is teeming with them!  Multiple dogs everywhere you turn.  We couldn’t keep up!  But that doesn’t mean we didn’t try.  Here’s a sampling of The Dogs of Nice.

DSC_0298

DSC_0336

DSC_0230

This one’s my favorite.

DSC_0372_2

I like this one too.

DSC_0238_2

And I’ll leave you with a setting sun over the French Riviera coastline.

DSC_0346

Two down, one to go!  Florence is coming up!  Au revoir!

11 Responses to “Ashley + Dan’s European Vacation: Part II – Nice”


  1. 1 candice November 15, 2009 at 12:30 pm

    That strawberry is so cute! Was it tasty? And the carousel… oh my…

    Can’t wait for the next recap :D

  2. 2 elise November 15, 2009 at 2:00 pm

    i never travel without crosswords, haha. nerd alert!!

    anyways, im loving all the dog pics. but i especially love how often you got gelato. thats what vacay is for!!

  3. 3 kbwood November 15, 2009 at 2:53 pm

    ahh that sounds soooo nice and relaxing!! my kind of vacation!

  4. 4 Melissa November 15, 2009 at 4:37 pm

    Thank you so so so much for posting these amazing photos and sharing your trip. I have never been to nice, I have to go!

  5. 5 Emily November 15, 2009 at 8:25 pm

    Oh my gosh…I know I keep saying it, but I would LOVE to visit Europe. Nice looks fabulous. I love all the bright colors and character…you just don’t see that here.

    By the way, I know you’ve mentioned you’re from St.L, and I’m currently living here for my dietetic internship. Do you have any recommendations for good vegetarian eats? :-)

  6. 7 Shannon November 17, 2009 at 8:34 am

    love the dog shots ;) and what a gorgeous city!! looks like a wonderful vacation!

  7. 8 Chrysta November 18, 2009 at 7:17 pm

    Looks absolutely amazing. I love the photos! I was in Nice a few years, so much fun!! All the shops and boutiques look fabulous. I hope you have a super great time!!!

  8. 9 Laurel Alanna McBrine November 19, 2009 at 8:50 pm

    It is easy to tell your passion by that photo of the cookies – brilliant!

    And you had a room with a view – lovely. Sigh. Europe is just so beautiful.

  9. 10 sweetandnatural November 20, 2009 at 3:23 pm

    Candice – Yes! Bite-sized and delicious!

    Emily – I don’t have any good vegetarian restaurant recommendations! I’ve only gotten into vegetarian eating in the past few years – after my life in STL. If you find any, please let me know! I’d love to check them out when I visit my parents!

  10. 11 Kate November 21, 2009 at 9:51 am

    Is Dan wearing a Notre Dame shirt??


Comments are currently closed.



Contact

ashley.sweetandnatural@gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter!


Quantcast

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 120 other followers

