Carob Chip Graham Cracker Bread

The Sister scolded me the other day for not sending her any baked goodies in over a year.  How thoughtless of me!  What kind of sister am I?!  I’m surprised I haven’t been disowned yet.  How lucky I am to have such a forgiving, patient sibling to put up with my lack of baking generosity.

Yes, she is that dramatic.  But only sometimes.  Love you Amanda!

So I asked her what she wanted!  One of her suggestions was a s’mores-inspired treat.  LOVED that idea!  And I knew just what I wanted to make – a sweet, quick bread made from graham cracker crumbs and laced with carob chips and naturally sweetened marshmallows.  It would be perfect.  Except I couldn’t find naturally sweetened marshmallows anywhere!  (Side note: If anyone knows where this can be done, let me know!) Bummer, for sure, but the show must go on.  I forged ahead with my marshmallow-less bread and out of the oven came Carob Chip Graham Cracker Bread.

The recipe is below.  It’s fun and easy and low-fat to boot!

1 cup white whole wheat flour

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/4 cup applesauce

1 cup whole wheat graham cracker crumbs

1 flax egg

1/3 cup honey

1 cup unsweetened almond milk

1 cup vegan carob chips

Preheat the oven to 350*F. Spray an 8 x 4-inch loaf pan with cooking spray and set aside. In a large bowl, mix together white whole wheat flour, cinnamon, baking soda and salt. In a separate bowl, mix applesauce and graham cracker crumbs (I ground 14 of these crackers in my food processor to get 1 cup) until well combined.  Add flax egg (1 tablespoon ground flax seed whisked with 3 tablespoons water) and mix until well combined.  Add honey and mix until well combined.  Alternatively mix in flour mixture and almond milk, beginning and ending with flour mixture.  Stir in carob chips.  Pour into prepared pan and bake for about 50 minutes. Let cool in pan for 15 minutes before removing.

This was my first time baking with a flax egg substitute – why I have no idea! – and it worked wonderfully.  I will definitely be using it more in the future!  As for the bread itself, how ’bout we turn to The Sister for her thoughts?

When I first received the package that contained the bread, I didn’t have any silverware nearby but couldn’t resist trying a piece. I used my hands to tear off a chunk. It took every ounce of restraint in me not to eat half of the loaf then and there with the plastic wrap still on it. It was so moist, so flavorful and so tasty!

So I guess it’s a keeper!

Do you have any favorite graham cracker treats?

31 Responses to “Carob Chip Graham Cracker Bread”


  1. 1 VeggieGirl March 30, 2010 at 5:51 pm

    I say you’re still a fabulous sister and baker! :-D

  2. 2 peasoupeats March 30, 2010 at 6:21 pm

    Hey, I really love your blog, your recipes are always so appetising! I was wondering if you could tell the reason for adding apple sauce – as far as I’m aware this is a US thing, I certainly haven’t seen it in any British recipes. Does it contribute to the moistness perhaps? I find the baked goods here in the US generally tastier.

    • 3 sweet + natural March 30, 2010 at 6:29 pm

      peasoupeats – Thanks for the nice comment! As for your question, I often use applesauce instead of oil in my baked goods to lighten up the calorie and fat content while still providing moisture to the baked good. I’d recommend it in muffins, cakes and quick breads – like this one – over things like brownies and cookies. I find the latter need the extra fat to get the texture the way I like it.

  3. 4 Kate March 30, 2010 at 6:36 pm

    Wow, that looks delicious! I will have to make this for Justin as he eats graham crackers every day. No exaggerating.

  4. 5 Joanne March 30, 2010 at 6:48 pm

    This sounds absolutely delicious! My siblings complain about me not baking for them also! I tell them that if they want to eat my baked goods, they need to come visit (they do, after all, only live 15 minutes away!).

  5. 6 The Sister March 30, 2010 at 7:15 pm

    I am dramatic sometimes. But I also LOVE your baked goods. I’m eating a piece right now! Keeps getting better really.

  6. 7 peasoupeats March 30, 2010 at 7:58 pm

    Thanks so much for your reply. I will definitely be purchasing a jar when I’m next in Trader Joes:)

  7. 8 Lauren March 31, 2010 at 6:26 am

    Hi Ashely -

    This bread looks amazingly delicious! I can’t wait to make it :).

    I’ve seen all-natural marshmallows at Whole Foods here in Boston – hopefully you can find them at your closest store.

    I love s’mores-inspired treats, and will actually soon be posting on my blog a loose interpretation of rice krispy treats using the trifecta of s’mores flavors. I’m planning to use Three Sisters brand Graham cereal, all-natural marshmallow cream (Tiny Trapeze and Ricemellow are both fantastic), and grain-sweetened chocolate chips. Hopefully they come out at beautifully as your bread did!

  8. 9 Katie March 31, 2010 at 11:30 am

    I’m not sure where you live,but just last weekend I found an all natural marshmallow creme at The Fruitful Yield here in Illinois. It’s decently priced too (under $4)! It would definitely be a great addition to that already amazing looking bread…which I’ll probably be baking in the very near future ;)

  9. 10 Sarah B @ Bake + Bike March 31, 2010 at 11:57 am

    That bread looks AMAZING. I can almost smell that delicious s’mores aroma through the screen!

    I’m always on the lookout for naturally-sweetened, vegan marshmallows here in Toronto, but they continue to elude me! Perhaps it is too much to ask.

  10. 11 N.D. March 31, 2010 at 2:16 pm

    This looks delicious and I LOVE graham cracker crumbs :)

  11. 12 Amanda March 31, 2010 at 8:43 pm

    This looks amazing!! Thank you so much for sharing the recipe, starring it as “to bake”. I would love to make some vegan smores with graham crackers, gotta find marsh. too!

  12. 13 Tyler April 1, 2010 at 3:26 pm

    Very creative! I’ve definitely never seen a recipe like this before! I want to crumble on of those pieces over some ice cream! Mmmm…

  13. 14 unusualpassions April 2, 2010 at 11:36 am

    The title drew me in! Wow, this looks really great.

  14. 15 Heather @ Side of Sneakers April 2, 2010 at 4:28 pm

    Mmm I love that the base is graham cracker crumbs- how tasty!!

  15. 16 Emily April 2, 2010 at 10:57 pm

    This recipe looks amazing! I’m definitely going to try it sometime. :-)

  16. 17 Katrina April 7, 2010 at 10:23 pm

    This looks really good!

  17. 18 ginny April 28, 2010 at 2:38 pm

    great recipes! i will have to try them out!!

  18. 19 Michelle May 18, 2010 at 11:55 am

    ohhh man i just found your website and I love love love your recipes!!! I am totally all about baking and sweets, especially ones that taste good and are healthy(er) too!!! I’m especially excited about your creative flavor combinations! Who would have thought graham cracker in a sweet bread?!?!

    P.s. I’m hostin’ a little giveaway for organic preserves and thought it would be perfect for your baked goodies! Does strawberry basil jam and blueberry merlot sound good to you? :)Maybe they can go in the PB&J bars…yummm

  19. 20 Nicky June 13, 2010 at 3:33 pm

    I am absolutely in love with your recipes, I’m planning on doing all of them haha! I just love how you can create such amazing baked goodies with little fat and calories by using natural ingredients – you are so inventive with it, you have a real talent! So far I have done the spiced pumpkin honey muffins and the maple banana cornbread and both of them are the best bakes I’ve ever done so thankyou soo much!! When are you going to post some new recipes because I’m dying for some?!
    Nicky xx

  20. 21 Liz June 25, 2010 at 12:27 pm

    Last night I made your maple almond butter cookies and they were seriously some of the best cookies I’ve ever had! Everyone that tried them LOVED them, and it’s a new favorite for me! I love graham crackers, so I’m excited to try the recipe you posted today! I love the blog :)

  21. 22 Yehudis August 11, 2010 at 2:34 am

    Yum – I made this and it’s so good!! Thank you!!

  22. 23 Yehudis August 26, 2010 at 10:22 pm

    I made this and it was so yummy. I added marshmallows to the batter but I think it would be good either with fluff instead, or just left out altogether because it’s so so good just w/the choc chip/graham cracker combo. Seriously a brilliant recipe, I was excited to make it forever and really happy when I finally did :) Thanks so much!!!!!

  23. 24 retro sweets November 1, 2010 at 2:23 am

    hi, appreciate your creative flavor combination, I am all about baking and sweets, especially ones that taste good and are healthy too.

  24. 25 blissfullyvegetariantraci November 7, 2010 at 7:32 pm

    Hi I like your blog. These carob graham yummies look incredible! I’ll be checking back :)

  25. 26 Suzanne February 1, 2011 at 9:40 pm

    Ashley!

    I just discovered your blog and I love it!! I just wanted to thank you for all the amazing recipes. I just baked this bread tonight and it turned out perfect! I’ve never baked bread before and was a little nervous, but your instructions are so clear and easy to follow. I also tried the maple almond butter cookies, LOVE THEM. Thanks and good luck with all your new endeavors! I’m glad you won’t be taking this site down anytime soon, now it’s one of my favorites!

    XO

  26. 27 Shannon March 1, 2011 at 12:45 pm

    I just found this recipe after looking for foods to fit my new lower sugar “diet”. I admit, I am not vegan and I did use milk instead of almond milk and chocolate chips instead of carob…because those are what I had, but I am very impressed with this! I am eating a slice now and I couldn’t be happier! What a great whole food recipe!

  27. 28 The Little Pineapple Girl June 3, 2011 at 10:34 am

    Your Carob chip graham cracker bread looks delicious!! I am in a breadmaking phase right now and this looks perfect. Does the carob chips taste a lot different than unsweetened bittersweet chocolate??

    • 29 sweet + natural June 4, 2011 at 10:14 am

      The Little Pineapple Girl – Thank you! I’ve never done a side-by-side taste comparison of carob and unsweetened chocolate, but I would say that carob is more bitter than regular sweetened chocolate. It has a distinct taste too – almost coffee like?


  1. 1 Homemade Valentine Dog Treats Shiloh & Shelby Siberian Husky Trackback on April 4, 2010 at 1:29 am
  2. 2 Coconut Graham Cracker Bread | Blissful Baking Trackback on May 15, 2011 at 11:52 pm
Comments are currently closed.



Contact

ashley.sweetandnatural@gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter!


Quantcast

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 130 other followers

