Ashley Facts: Part I

Only one week into blogging and I’m already being picked on!  J/k, j/k.  I was tagged this evening by the lovely Andrea of bella eats [and runs] and now feel like the new kid on the playground who’s been chosen for the kickball team.  Hooray!

The dealio:

– Link the person that tagged you and post the rules on your blog
– Share 7 random and/or weird facts about yourself
– Tag 7 random people at the end of your post and include links
– Let each person know that they’ve been tagged by leaving a comment on their blog

Since I am the new kid on the block and don’t want to lose all credibility over here, I figured I’d balance out the 7 random and/or weird facts with 7 normal facts.  Today, I bring you Normal Facts.  Check back tomorrow for Random and/or Weird Facts, which will most likely be more revealing of my true character…

Here goes.

Normal Facts:

1. I’ve lived in New York City for over two years, but grew up in St. Louis, MO.  Whenever I tell people where I’m originally from, I say St. Louis and leave off the Missouri.  It means the difference between suburbia and farmland.  Not that anything’s wrong with farmland, but people mistakenly tend to think that’s all the Midwest’s got going for it.

2. I am the oldest of three children, one Labrador retriever and one Persian cat.  Past members of our family have included a lop-eared rabbit, a hamster and a multitude of fish.  I unfortunately have no pets of my own right now – roommate is allergic!

3. My parents are empty nesters as of one year ago – minus the dog and cat of course.  They now spend their days throwing wild dance parties in the backyard, learning to fly jumbo jets and traveling to exotic locales.  Just kidding!  But they did go to Chicago last weekend.

4. I graduated from Northwestern University in 2006 with a double major in art history and psychology.  I am neither an art historian nor a psychologist.

5. So what do you do?!  I work as an Account Planner for an advertising agency.  Basically, this means I’m in charge of figuring out what makes consumers tick and using that knowledge to guide the strategic direction of a brand.  You can often find me sitting behind a one-way mirror watching and analyzing focus groups for market research.  I’m currently assigned to a soon-to-be-launched women’s health product that will be getting a LOT of media attention once it’s on the market.  Suspenseful, right?

6. I am lucky to have a wonderful boyfriend who serves as my very willing taste tester.  I would say he’s my critic too, but he’s pretty easy to please.  Hi Dan!

7. Besides baking, some of my [normal] hobbies include reading, wining and dining, doing crossword puzzles and hitting the gym.  My younger self played volleyball and racquetball – it’s not just for old men anymore! – and took a lot of art classes.

And that’s my normal side.  Get excited for the random and/or weird Ashley to come.

In the meantime, how about all of you share some Normal Facts about yourself?

16 Responses to “Ashley Facts: Part I”


  1. 1 VeggieGirl November 11, 2008 at 7:08 am

    AHHHHH, I love this post – so lovely to learn more about you, Ashley!!! 😀

  2. 2 Andrea [bellaeats] November 11, 2008 at 9:39 am

    Lovely factoids Ashley!!! You’re too cute! I love NYC…hubby and I try to get up there at least once a year. Sadly we missed this year, but are planning a trip next September for a friend’s wedding. Here are two normal facts about me, then I have to get back to work (blogging is so distracting!!!).

    1. I have two labrador retrievers and a part-siamese cat that are my babies. One of the labs had double ACL surgery this summer that cost hubby and I a FORTUNE, thus the lack of a trip to the Big Apple.

    2. My hubby and I met our first week of college. We had huge crushes on each other for 2 years before finally dating. By the time we started dating we were already best friends…I highly recommend dating and marrying your best friend. 🙂

  3. 3 sweetandnatural November 11, 2008 at 12:34 pm

    VeggieGirl – So lovely to share!

    Andrea [bellaeats]– Yay labs! Mine’s chocolate – what are yours? The bf and I met my first week of college too. 🙂

  4. 4 Lindsey November 11, 2008 at 2:10 pm

    haha I know how you feel about the new kid being picked for the kickball team. About a week or so into blogging I got my first “blog award”…haha I was SOOOO excited. 🙂 Thanks for posting this, great to know more about you! I got tagged by someone else, so I’ll prob. be posting some random facts about myself later too. 🙂

  5. 5 Meghann November 11, 2008 at 2:55 pm

    My degree is in Humanities and I now work in marketing. 🙂

  6. 6 sweetandnatural November 11, 2008 at 3:15 pm

    Lindsey – Random facts will be much more fun than normal facts. 😛

    Meghann – Funny how that happens, huh?

  7. 7 HangryPants November 11, 2008 at 3:53 pm

    Hi Ashley!

    Love your facts. Seems like you have quite a happy little life going on. 🙂 The stuff about your parents made me laugh.

  8. 8 Amanda November 11, 2008 at 4:09 pm

    The parents did recently buy a new car. That was pretty thrilling for them.

  9. 9 eatingbender November 11, 2008 at 6:44 pm

    So much in common 🙂 But one thing I didn’t know already was that you are an account planner – that is awesome! I know I’m a broadcast journalism major, but I’m actually looking to go into marketing and am currently applying for associate jobs in the Chicago area!

    Can’t wait to see the random facts!

  10. 10 Amanda - RuntoFinish November 11, 2008 at 7:32 pm

    Just found your blog and I’m laughing because I’m from Kansas City… no state attached for the very same reason!

  11. 11 sweetandnatural November 11, 2008 at 8:27 pm

    HangryPants – Thanks! It’s not too shabby. 🙂

    Amanda – Ooh, good one. Not as cool as flying jets, but an excitement nonetheless.

    eatingbender – Good luck with the job search! I remember being so stressed when I was looking for a job, especially because marketing jobs don’t usually hire until right before they need you to start. Makes it more difficult to get something locked down before graduation!

    Amanda – RuntoFinish – Hahaha, all my friends from home do the same thing. 😛

  12. 12 seeleelive November 12, 2008 at 10:36 am

    you live in NYC? i am from CT!!! How close. What is your favorite restaurant in NYC? I love ’em alll..but Jean Georges has to be my #1!! I like your blog. Keep it uppp!

    A regular fact: I go to the bathroom every 1-2 hours.

  13. 13 sweetandnatural November 12, 2008 at 11:15 am

    seeleelive – How can I pick just one NYC restaurant?! I have different favorites for different occasions – from the hole-in-the-walls to more upscale, but overall, I think I’ll go with Etats-Unis. Amazing food, but their chocolate souffle that is the BEST dessert in the city, so that puts them over the top. 🙂

  14. 14 catms916 November 14, 2008 at 3:18 pm

    Yay I love bloggy Q&A! Some facts about me:

    1.) I am 23 and live in NYC as well, as do my older brother and sister.

    2.) I have a Siamese cat named Peekay who is named after the main character in the book “The Power of One”

    3.) I love running, wine, reading, cooking, snowboarding… I sound like a personal ad – hah

  15. 15 sweetandnatural November 14, 2008 at 7:43 pm

    catms916 – Whoo hoo NYC!

  16. 16 Lynna September 6, 2009 at 7:01 pm

    Hey Ashley,

    I just found your blog and I really enjoy it! I too love baking but have an interest in health/ nutrition. Seems like we actually have a lot in common- I live in St. Louis right now and am from New York (Long Island actually, but quite close to NYC). Also, I just graduated from Washington University (in St. Louis) with a degree in Art History and East Asian Studies.

    I look forward to reading more of your recipes etc. Hopefully you’ll enjoy my blog too- check it out @ http://www.amourpetitgateau.blogspot.com!


Comments are currently closed.



Contact

ashley.sweetandnatural@gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter!


Quantcast

