Ashley Facts: Part II

As promised in yesterday’s Ashley Facts: Part I, I’m back today with 7 Random and/or Weird Facts about me.  I always find these more fun to read than the standard “I grew up here…went to school there…do this now…” spiel.  They’re both necessary, of course, but revealing your quirks is like getting past the first few dates and letting the other party in on the real you.

So here’s a taste of the “real” me…

Random and/or Weird Facts:

1. I shared a pet gnome with my girlfriends in college.  We found him perched atop a trashcan outside the town Burger King at the beginning of freshman year.  Innocent and lonely, he was clearly waiting for our rescue.  We adopted him immediately and appropriately named him “Nanners” after the large ceramic banana he clutched in his pudgy ceramic arms.  He came on many an adventure with us – to French class, school meetings, the dining hall.  Unfortunately, he tumbled off a cafeteria tray one evening and led the rest of his life completely wrapped in clear packaging tape – the only thing that would safely hold together his fragile wounds.  Still, Nanners stayed with us through graduation and I believe remains on the fireplace mantle where we left him to this day.

2. I do not eat the tops or bottoms of bananas.  If I have a knife, I cut them off.  If there is no knife in sight, I pop them off with my fingers and toss them into the garbage.  It’s become a sort of superstition for me.

3. I am infatuated with puppies.  They have an uncanny ability to make me feel all warm and fuzzy inside.  Seeing as I do not have one of my own (see Normal Fact #2), I am forced to live vicariously through other pet owners.  This involves being a regular visitor to dailypuppy.com via the Daily Puppy widget I placed front and center on my Google homepage.  Dan (see Normal Fact #6) gets instant messages with links whenever an especially cute puppy is featured.  If he is not there to receive an instant message, he gets an e-mail.I would say this happens, oh…four or five times a week.  No one should miss out on that adorableness.

4. My college girlfriends (same ones as above) and I call each other “Mom” instead of going by our first names.  I’m not totally sure how this got started, but I think it had something to do with me always having keys out of the purse and ready to get us into our dorm – a very “mom-like” behavior.  Hey, when you’re walking across campus in below freezing Chicago temperatures, you want to be prepared to get into the warmth ASAP!  However it began, the nicknames stuck, and I now have four moms.

5. I read the comics with breakfast everyday from age 5 to 22.  After that, I no longer received a newspaper at my door each morning, and the tradition sadly came to an end.  But you better believe that the funnies page is the first thing I reach for upon waking whenever I’m visiting my parents.

6. I have an obsession with anything abnormally small or excessively large.  Things like this and this.  Something that’s not the size it’s supposed to be, but is still functional – I’m all over it.

7. I have been told by some that I ask too many questions.  I like to say I have a curious mind and inquisitive nature and enjoy the banter of conversation.  Others like to say I should think about my inquiries before blurting them out because half of them are rhetorical and I can usually figure out the answer to the rest with 14 extra seconds of thought.  I guess everyone is entitled to their own opinion.

So there’s a peak into the random side of me!

I think this tag thing has gone around quite a bit, so rather than risk making the blogging faux pas of re-tagging (gasp!), I’ll just ask anyone who reads this…Do we have anything in common?  Come on, own your weirdness!

17 Responses to “Ashley Facts: Part II”


  1. 1 VeggieGirl November 12, 2008 at 7:53 am

    I’M TOTALLY LIKE YOU WITH #2 AND #5!!!!!!! I ALWAYS slice those ends off the bananas; and I’m a big fan of Calvin and Hobbes, for the comics 🙂

  2. 2 Bridget P November 12, 2008 at 9:50 am

    I also read the comics every single day growing up and the tops and bottoms of bananas weird me out. I recently ate an entire banana and I didn’t die, but I didn’t like it either! I revealed some more of my randomness on my blog 🙂

  3. 3 sweetandnatural November 12, 2008 at 11:17 am

    VeggieGirl, Bridget P – What is it about those banana tops?! Eating them just feels so wrong. Love that you both read comics too. I miss them!

  4. 4 Andrea [bellaeats] November 12, 2008 at 3:07 pm

    I don’t mind the tops of bananas, but I always avoid the bottoms…why is that?!?! I’d never heard of dailypuppy.com, but now I’m hooked! Just another distraction from work…. 🙂

  5. 5 Mel November 12, 2008 at 6:29 pm

    I hate the tops and bottoms of bananas too. There is just something about them that are kinda gross…

    We also share the nickname of Mom, I got that one because like you I’m always prepared! 😀

  6. 6 sweetandnatural November 12, 2008 at 8:28 pm

    Andrea [bellaeats] – You will not regret becoming hooked on dailypuppy.com! Ahh..the joy it adds to my life. 😛

    Mel – Haha, go Moms!

  7. 7 eatingbender November 12, 2008 at 11:38 pm

    I definitely slice the ends off of my bananas…and I have a funny feeling I may have been to that Burger King before! Hmmm 😉

  8. 8 strongandhealthy November 13, 2008 at 7:15 am

    I don’t eat the top or bottom of my bananas either!

  9. 9 sweetandnatural November 13, 2008 at 9:49 am

    So maybe the banana thing wasn’t so weird of a fact!

    eatingbender – We found him walking home from brunch at Clarke’s! I heart Evanston. 🙂

    strongandhealthy – I’m now convinced they’re not meant to be eaten.

  10. 10 NAS November 13, 2008 at 5:20 pm

    MOM!!!!! I was just cracking up OUT LOUD alone in my apartment when reading your recap of that fateful morn whence we stumbled upon the lone orphan gnome. I hope Nanners is doing ok still, although I’m sure with his bubble wrap shell he’s pretty invincible.

  11. 11 sweetandnatural November 13, 2008 at 8:56 pm

    NAS – Hahaha – I miss you! Your “NAS” makes me think of your AIM buddy icon. Do you still have the same one?

  12. 13 sweetandnatural November 14, 2008 at 8:35 am

    Hangry Pants – Glad you enjoyed!

  13. 14 catms916 November 14, 2008 at 3:23 pm

    I also have been told I ask too many questions… and am slightly impatient.

    My math teacher in hs told me that my sneezes sound like someone stepping on a mouse (i squeak)

    I also always read the comics growing up – I lived for the Sunday ones! 🙂

    I chain-chew gum like a smoker sometimes.

    When I was little I used to hate when the food on my plate “touched” the other food.

  14. 15 sweetandnatural November 14, 2008 at 7:42 pm

    catms916 – Sunday comics were the BEST!

  15. 16 Kate November 19, 2008 at 8:29 pm

    We have #5 in common for sure. I love the funnies and also am sad not to have a newspaper to read in the mornings anymore.
    And have you checked out
    http://cdn1.ustream.tv/swf/4/viewer.45.swf?cid=317016
    ? Looks like a virus but it’s your gateway to puppy cuteness, as said by a friend who introduced me to it. I’m usually quite behind on internet fads so you’ve probably already discovered it but I figured I’d share just to make sure.

  16. 17 sweetandnatural November 19, 2008 at 10:02 pm

    Kate – OMG! Amazing! I have never seen that before, but Dan did recently introduce me to YouTube videos of puppies. There are a TON of them. Here’s a taste… http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w-m0kFiKkSo.


Comments are currently closed.



Contact

ashley.sweetandnatural@gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter!


Quantcast

