Maple Sweet Potato Cornbread

cimg2339-2

Fall is the BEST time for baking.  I seriously believe the season was made just to give us inspiration.  Think of all the flavors and spices – pumpkin, apple, cinnamon, nutmeg.  Ahh…I can smell an oven seeping with autumn aromas as I type.

I already made Spiced Pumpkin Honey Muffins to express my love for what I deem to be the epitome of fall – Thanksgiving.  But my love overfloweth, and I couldn’t let the holiday come and go without baking up another festive recipe.  So without further ado, I’d like to introduce Maple Sweet Potato Cornbread.

cimg2318-2

My Maple Banana Cornbread was such a hit around here that I thought it would be fun to up the fall aspect and transform it into a loaf bursting with seasonal tastes.  Since sweet potato is a favorite Thanksgiving – or anytime! – food of mine, the way to make this happen was obvious.  I substituted sweet potato for banana and the rest, my friends, is history.

Here’s my recipe:

1 cup stone ground cornmeal

3/4 cup white whole wheat flour

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1/2  teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 cup mashed sweet potatoes

1/2 cup maple syrup

1 egg white

1/2 cup skim milk

Preheat the oven to 350*F. Spray an 8 x 4-inch loaf pan with cooking spray and set aside.  In a large bowl, mix together sweet potatoes, maple syrup, egg white and skim milk.  In a separate bowl, mix cornmeal, white whole wheat flour, cinnamon, salt and baking soda.  Stir the dry ingredients into the sweet potato mixture until just blended. Pour into prepared pan and bake for about 40 minutes.

cimg2311-2

Maple!  Sweet potato!  Cornbread!  A trifecta of fall flavors!

cimg2323-21

This bread is quite tasty!  Very moist and the essence of sweet potato really comes through.  Compared to my Maple Banana Cornbread, I’d say the sweetness is more subtle – because sweet potato has less natural sugar than banana – and the nutty cornmeal flavor is a bit more subdued.  But it was still very well-received and Dan an official taste tester had a hard time picking which loaf he liked best. 

This would be a great treat to bring along to a holiday dinner.  Will you be baking anything for Thanksgiving this year?  

cimg2347-21

26 Responses to “Maple Sweet Potato Cornbread”


  1. 1 VeggieGirl November 24, 2008 at 7:22 pm

    Sweet potatoes = my true love.

    Your cornbread = perfection.

    Of COURSE I’m baking for Thanksgiving!! It’s a secret though 😉

  2. 2 Lindsay November 24, 2008 at 8:29 pm

    WOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    i definitely want to try making this – it sounds amazing and combines all of my favorite flavors!

  3. 3 Megan November 24, 2008 at 8:34 pm

    yum! cornbread and sweet potatoes= heaven! I definitely need to try this. Thanks, girl!

  4. 4 ttfn300 November 24, 2008 at 9:00 pm

    this sounds just delighful!! way to combine some of the best flavors of the season 🙂

  5. 5 Jennifer November 24, 2008 at 9:22 pm

    I am adding this to my to-make list!!! 😀

  6. 6 Laura November 24, 2008 at 9:23 pm

    I agree! Fall is the best time for baking. 🙂 That bread looks amazing!

    I got the idea for the omelette cups from some South Beach Diet message boards. Everyone seemed to like them just as much a few days after cooking them. I haven’t made them before, so I’m not sure what to expect.

  7. 7 Jessica November 24, 2008 at 10:12 pm

    Looks yummy! I make my cornbread with pumpkin puree in it. I’ve found you can use pumpkin or sweet potato (or butternut squash too) interchangeably in just about any baking recipe that calls for one of them. I think I’m going to use cornbread to make my stuffing this year instead of the usual bread stuffing.

  8. 8 eatingbender November 24, 2008 at 10:50 pm

    I never would have thought to try sweet potatoes with cornbread, but now that you’ve done it, it makes COMPLETE sense! Your pictures are making my mouth water and I might just have to convince my family that we need to spruce up our average cornbread this Thursday!! Thanks, Ashley 🙂

  9. 9 Angela November 24, 2008 at 11:24 pm

    This. Sounds. Freakin. Amazing.

    Angela
    http://www.ohsheglows.com

  10. 10 Katie November 24, 2008 at 11:26 pm

    That is such a FANTASTIC idea. Cornbread, sweet potatoes, and maple syrup? Nothing better!

    I’m saving the recipe; this is definitely going to be part of my baking extravaganza!

  11. 11 Andrea [bellaeats] November 24, 2008 at 11:49 pm

    Oh yum! This would have been such a great sweet potato BSI!!!! I’ve been dying to try your maple banana cornbread and was all set to this weekend until I realized I didn’t have any syrup! How does that happen!?!? So I picked some up at the grocery, went to my pantry tonight to pull out all of my ingredients and discovered that my cornmeal expired last April… 😦 How do you store all of your different flours?

    Beautiful photos as always!

  12. 12 HangryPants November 25, 2008 at 9:01 am

    Wow, this looks so delicious!

    I am making my first cheesecake!

  13. 13 Meghann November 25, 2008 at 9:36 am

    Now you’re speaking my language. 🙂 I will have to give this one a try after the Holiday!

  14. 14 sweetandnatural November 25, 2008 at 9:43 am

    VeggieGirl – I’m assuming we’ll get a post-T-giving post!

    Lindsay, ttfn300 – It really is a loaf of fall flavors!

    Megan, Jennifer, Katie – Let me know how you like it if you give it a try!

    Laura – I may have to try some omelette cups myself. Does that count as baking? 😛

    Jessica – That’s funny because I was debating if I should go sweet potato or pumpkin with this cornbread. Figured sweet potato would be best since I already baked pumpkin muffins!

    eatingbender – Spruced up cornbread is fun! I’m making one with cinnamon and maple syrup for the big day.

    Angela – Thank! You! 😛

    Andrea [bellaeats] – I know – I just missed the sweet potato BSI! In terms of flour storage, I know you’re supposed to keep whole grain flours in a cool, dry place or they can go bad. And refrigerating makes them last longer. I just have my whole wheat stuff in a cabinet, but I keep my cornmeal in an airtight container in the fridge – mostly because I don’t use it as quickly. I don’t know if that’s the “official” way to go, but I’ve never had a problem.

    HangryPants – Good luck with the cheesecake! I haven’t made one of those in a while, but I remember being nervous about it the first time. People make it seem more complicated than it really is!

  15. 15 Mel November 25, 2008 at 10:52 am

    You are on a roll with the cornbreads, and this one looks amazing too!

    I am baking pumpkin pie (for the first time) and I’m making ho-ho cake, by request of the boy’s sister. 🙂

  16. 16 catms916 November 25, 2008 at 12:51 pm

    Oooh sounds delicious! I made sweet potato scones a little while back and am now so in love with using sweet potatoes in baked goods!

  17. 17 Mariposa November 25, 2008 at 1:00 pm

    wow wow! sweet potatoes I can eat.. i think i will be making this .. THIS weekend! YUM!

  18. 18 Bridget P November 25, 2008 at 1:10 pm

    YUM!

    I’m keeping my baking traditional for Thanksgiving this year- pumpkin bread for breakfast and pumpkin pie for dessert. I’m looking forward to trying some more creative baking after Thanksgiving, though!

  19. 19 sweetandnatural November 25, 2008 at 7:58 pm

    Meghann – I told you something was coming!

    Mel – I baked my first pumpkin pie for T-giving last year. Good luck!

    catms916 – Sweet potato scones sounds pretty awesome. 🙂

    Mariposa – Let me know what you think!

    Bridget P – A day full of pumpkin sounds good to me. 🙂

  20. 22 Katie December 2, 2008 at 8:11 am

    WHOA! That looks TOTALLY delicious! I am starring this recipe to use asap! YUM!

  21. 23 sweetandnatural December 2, 2008 at 7:58 pm

    Katie – You’ll have to report back if you make it!

  22. 24 duodishes December 12, 2008 at 12:08 pm

    We come right from the South. Literally. And most people don’t mess with their cornbread! 🙂 But this sounds so delicious. Never had any sort of a potato in cornbread, and we think this is a good one to start with.

  23. 25 sweetandnatural December 12, 2008 at 1:17 pm

    duodishes – Hope I didn’t offend you guys by switching up the cornbread! 😛


  1. 1 Crack is Whack « LovIN My Tummy Trackback on January 15, 2009 at 12:37 am
Comments are currently closed.



Contact

ashley.sweetandnatural@gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter!


Quantcast

