Crystallized Ginger Cookies

cimg2415_2-1

Christmas tiiiime is heeeeeere.

A little Charlie Brown Christmas anyone?  I totally grew up on that movie.  My parents still have the VHS – yup, you heard me, VHS – in their film collection.  And my mom gets super excited when it’s on TV each year.  It’s like network television’s sign that Christmas has arrived.  And we all know that network television is the calendar of the modern age.

Anyway, I LOVE Christmas and was really excited to start getting some Christmas baking business up on the blog.  Since Andrea over at bella eats [and runs] chose ginger as this week’s BSI, what better way to welcome the holiday cheer than to spice up a traditional Christmas ginger cookie!  I adapted this recipe and doubled the ginger fun by adding crystallized ginger to the mix.  And there you have it!  Crystallized Ginger Cookies.

cimg2438

Here’s the recipe:

1/2 cup turbinado sugar

1/4 cup vegetable oil

2 tablespoons skim milk

2 tablespoons molasses

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 cup whole wheat pastry flour

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon ginger

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon cloves

1/2 cup crystallized ginger, chopped*

* I used crystallized ginger that was made with raw unrefined sugar.

Preheat the oven to 350*F.  In a large bowl, cream together sugar and oil.  Add skim milk, molasses and vanilla and blend.  In a separate bowl, mix together whole wheat pastry flour, baking soda, salt, ginger, cinnamon and cloves.  Add flour mixture to wet ingredients and blend.  Stir in crystallized ginger.  Dough will be sticky, so you can refrigerate for 15 minutes or so to make it easier to work with.  Roll heaping tablespoons into balls, flatten to about 1/3 of an inch and place on cookie sheet.  Bake for 8-10 minutes.  Let stand two minutes and remove to cool.  Makes 14 cookies.

cimg2423_2_2-1

These cookies are super soft and super SPICY.  The crystallized ginger really gives them an extra kick!  If you’re a ginger fan, you’d love them.  I do think next time I’ll throw an egg into the batter though – I’d like a little more crispy action around the edges!

Do you have a fun ginger cookie recipe?

cimg2427-2

19 Responses to “Crystallized Ginger Cookies”


  1. 1 VeggieGirl December 7, 2008 at 4:22 pm

    A-FREAKING-MAZING!!

    I love the Sparkled Ginger Cookies recipe from “Vegan with a Vengeance” – but now YOUR recipe is my favorite!! 😀

  2. 2 Bridget December 7, 2008 at 4:58 pm

    I just discovered that I love ginger cookies, so I can’t wait to try making my own! Crystallized ginger sounds like something I might have to hunt around to find, but I’ll definitely start looking for it.

  3. 3 The Sister December 7, 2008 at 4:59 pm

    This is much more interesting than studying for my finals.
    I cannot wait until I am home and you are home, and I can maybe make a contribution to this blog by melting your butter.

  4. 4 The Sister December 7, 2008 at 5:00 pm

    I realize you don’t use butter in this blog, but I’m sure you understood what I was saying…

  5. 5 Andrea [bella eats] December 7, 2008 at 5:24 pm

    These look amazing!!! Thanks for submitting! 🙂

  6. 6 sweetandnatural December 7, 2008 at 5:45 pm

    VeggieGirl – You’re too kind! I think the recipe I adapted was actually the exact one you’re referring too! Click on the link to check it out.

    Bridget – I’ve seen regular crystallized ginger in my normal grocery store, so hopefully yours has it too. If you want to get some made with unrefined sugar – like I used for the blog – that might be more of a hunt. I found mine at a health food store, but I bet Whole Foods would have it too. Good luck!

    The Sister – Hahaha. Word on the street is you’ve become quite a little baker yourself! Should I graduate you to separating eggs? 😉

    Andrea [bella eats] – Looking forward to seeing all the submissions!

  7. 7 Sharon December 7, 2008 at 6:04 pm

    Great recipe! That is so awesome! I am definitely going to be trying those! Stayed tuned for holiday baking once my final exams are done with!

    Enjoy your Sunday!

  8. 8 ttfn300 December 7, 2008 at 6:39 pm

    ah, i just made those blueberry-white choc-ginger cookies that were a good combo! But I like the looks of your crystallized ginger better, mine is so sugar-y!!

  9. 9 Amy December 7, 2008 at 6:50 pm

    Mmm. These sound deeeelicious. And your pictures are beautiful.

  10. 10 Mel December 7, 2008 at 6:55 pm

    Oh my goodness, these look amazing! Ginger cookies are my favorite, yet I never make them! I think I may have to now!

  11. 11 Mariposa December 7, 2008 at 7:13 pm

    yummmmmmmmmmmmm… thats all i have to say! love ginger cookies!

  12. 12 Lindsay December 7, 2008 at 8:58 pm

    i love your ginger cookie recipe – what an perfect BSI submission… i love the pictures they are beautiful!

  13. 13 carolinebee December 8, 2008 at 12:15 am

    Hi ashley!! I’ve definitely read your blog many times, I need to try your Espresso cc cookies ASAP!! I’m adding you if u don’t mind 😀 Can’t wait to hear the bsi, have a great night!

  14. 14 sweetandnatural December 8, 2008 at 12:26 am

    Sharon – Yay for holiday baking!

    ttfn300 – I saw those cookies – they look delish!

    Amy, Mel, Mariposa, Lindsay – Thank you ladies!

    carolinebee – Hi! Those cookies were tasty. And of course you can add me!

  15. 15 eatingbender December 8, 2008 at 11:08 pm

    I love ginger cookies! I used to get Moravian ginger cookies every Christmas – I really miss them! But I think your recipe would beat them by a million 🙂

  16. 16 sweetandnatural December 9, 2008 at 12:45 pm

    eatingbender – Aww, how sweet! You should get those cookies again! Bring back the memories. 🙂

  17. 17 elise December 13, 2008 at 6:51 pm

    Your photography is really amazing. Are you formally trained? What kind of camera do you have? I’m getting into photography and I love your pictures. I’m adding you to my blog roll!

  18. 18 sweetandnatural December 14, 2008 at 12:16 pm

    elise – Thank you – I’m flattered! I’m not formally trained in photography, but I took a LOT of art classes all through school. I think that honed my eye for composition and design. And my camera is not fancy AT ALL – it’s a five-year-old Casio Exilim. It doesn’t take great pictures, but I can spruce them up a bit in iPhoto – change the exposure, saturation, etc. I do want to get a nicer camera – someday!


  1. 1 Oh She Glows » Blog Archive » Ashley: Sweet and Natural Trackback on June 5, 2009 at 12:11 pm
Comments are currently closed.



Contact

ashley.sweetandnatural@gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter!


Quantcast

