Chocolate Peppermint Chewies

REMINDER – Don’t forget to send your BSI recipes to me by tomorrow, December 14 @ 7:00 PM EST!

cimg2441-1

I’ve said it before, but I’ll say it again.  I LOVE Christmas.  I love the white holiday lights and decorated store windows.  I love Christmas trees with presents piled underneath.  I love family time and the happy and generous feel of the season.  I love Christmas songs and Christmas movies on TV.  I love cozy fires when it’s snowing outside.  Ok…I realize the White Christmas dream doesn’t come true all that often, but it’s how I imagine the holidays to be anyway.  What can I say – I’m an idealist.

If there’s one flavor I love this time of year more than others, it’s peppermint.  To me, peppermint epitomizes the taste of the holidays.  I mean, really, what would Christmas be without candy canes?!  A little less joyful if you ask me. 

To honor peppermint’s reign over Christmastime, I choose it as this week’s BSI.  And I made Chocolate Peppermint Chewies!

cimg2442-1

Whole Foods makes some chocolate cookies that I’ve been eyeing for awhile.  They have no flour and no butter or oil – basically just sugar, cocoa and egg whites.  I’ve never actually tasted them, but they always look awesome and I thought they’d be great cookies to add a little peppermint flair to.  I found this recipe with similar ingredients, so I decided to adapt it and give it a go. 

Here’s my naturalized, peppermintized version: 

2 1/4 cups unrefined powdered sugar

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 cup cocoa powder

3 egg whites

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 teaspoon peppermint extract

3/4 cup grain sweetened chocolate chips

In a large bowl, mix together unrefined powdered sugar, salt and cocoa powder.  In a separate bowl, mix egg whites, vanilla extract and peppermint extract.  Add wet ingredients to dry ingredients and mix with an electric mixer at low speed for 2 minutes – the batter should be shiny and smooth.  Stir in chocolate chips.  Cover bowl and refrigerate for 3 hours or up to overnight.  Preheat oven to 350*F and spray cookie sheet with cooking spray or line with parchment paper.  Drop tablespoon-sized balls of dough onto cookie sheet.  Don’t flatten and be sure to leave space between the drops – these cookies spread out in the oven!  (Note: I used cooking spray for my cookie sheets and suspect that made them like Slip ‘n Slides for the dough.  I’m thinking using parchment paper instead would prevent major spreadage.)  Bake for 9-10 minutes until tops are glossy and crackly.  Let stand for 3 minutes and remove to cool.  Makes 16 cookies.

cimg2469-1

Check out those glossy crackles.

I’ll be honest here, I was a little skeptical of these guys when they came out of the oven – they looked all crunchy and stuff!  But my doubt quickly disappeared after a taste test – they weren’t crunchy in the slightest!  The edges are crispy, but still soft, and the middle is fudgy like a brownie!  And the peppermint flavor was a perfect match for the chocolate goodness.  It left my mouth feeling quite refreshed.

What’s your favorite peppermint treat for the holidays?

cimg2462-1

23 Responses to “Chocolate Peppermint Chewies”


  1. 1 VeggieGirl December 13, 2008 at 6:38 pm

    That’s it, you win!! Love your BSI recipe 🙂

    **Favorite peppermint treat = candy canes!!

  2. 2 Sharon December 13, 2008 at 7:11 pm

    Peppermint extract? How creative! 🙂
    Looks delicious!

  3. 3 Lindsey (Mrs. LC) December 13, 2008 at 7:40 pm

    oh gosh, these look AMAZING, I want some NOW, please!! major craving coming on. 🙂

  4. 4 eatingbender December 14, 2008 at 12:23 am

    Haha, I’m a holiday idealist, too 🙂 Those cookies look so amazing! I agree with VeggieGirl – you should win your own contest! It’s clear that you are talented in the peppermint department – and the baking department, for that matter!

    I am going to try to get something posted before tomorrow – I hope I will have time!

  5. 5 Bridget December 14, 2008 at 12:56 am

    Those look sooo good! Chocolate and peppermint is my all-time favorite combo…I just made something for my BSI submittal and will be posting it tomorrow 🙂

  6. 6 Pearl December 14, 2008 at 6:39 am

    that looks SO good! i want to go buy some peppermint extract now 🙂

  7. 7 Lindsay December 14, 2008 at 9:29 am

    what an awesome combo – peppermint & chocolate?! 🙂 perfect!

  8. 8 ttfn300 December 14, 2008 at 9:52 am

    oh my, these look fantastic!! i have been lacking in peppermint inspiration this week 😦 i need some extract though! (darn, would’ve made a good xmas gift!)

  9. 9 Andrea [bella eats] December 14, 2008 at 10:18 am

    These look yummy! I love those flour-less cookies at Whole Foods…yours look identical! I’ve always wondered how they get so shiny…

    I just submitted my BSI recipe! 🙂

  10. 10 sweetandnatural December 14, 2008 at 12:10 pm

    VeggieGirl, eatingbender – Haha, thanks for your votes! 🙂

    Sharon, ttfn300 – This is my first time using peppermint extract – it’s amazing how much flavor it adds! I want to use it all the time now.

    Lindsey (Mrs. LC), Pearl, Lindsay – Thank you!

    Bridget – Can’t wait to see it!

    Andrea [bella eats] – I think it’s the egg whites that make them shiny. You should have seen the batter – it glistened! And I saw your BSI – looks so good!

  11. 11 Catherine December 14, 2008 at 12:58 pm

    I absolutely must try that!! No flour??? So awesome! Hope you got my BSI submission – I sent it in via email

  12. 12 Jeena December 14, 2008 at 3:55 pm

    I love peppermint and these look chewy and fabulous. 🙂

  13. 13 Amanda December 14, 2008 at 4:36 pm

    thank you! I think I can make these for my parents next week and they’ll love them

  14. 14 Tina December 14, 2008 at 7:06 pm

    Omg, I can tell that these are soft and chewy! YUM!

  15. 15 Angela December 14, 2008 at 9:36 pm

    Oh my gosh- 1 CUP of cocoa??? Seriously!!!? That is amazing. 😀

    Angela
    http://www.ohsheglows.com

  16. 16 sweetandnatural December 14, 2008 at 10:50 pm

    Catherine – It’s amazing to me how fudgy these are with no flour and no butter!

    Amanda – How wonderful! Please let me know how they turn out!

    Jeena, Tina – Very soft and chewy – like a thin brownie!

    Angela – I know – incredible. 🙂

  17. 17 sgfoodlover December 16, 2008 at 9:15 am

    These chewies look special ha!

  18. 18 Kate December 16, 2008 at 4:01 pm

    Mmmm these look so good! I absolutely love chocolate and mint! I totally wish I had known about these before Thanksgiving because I would’ve forced you to make them for me. Kind of like how I forced you to make me your PB oat bars, pumpkin muffins, corn muffins, and brownies. Let’s just say I envy my brother’s taste tester status! 🙂

  19. 19 sweetandnatural December 16, 2008 at 9:47 pm

    sgfoodlover – Special chewies are the best kind!

    Kate – Haha – you know I was more than happy to bake for you! You can put me to use anytime I’m there. And you would love these cookies – they’re seriously like a brownie. Yummmmm.

  20. 20 Katie December 17, 2008 at 7:56 am

    Oh my gosh, those look INSANELY delicious!

  21. 21 sweetandnatural December 17, 2008 at 9:55 pm

    Katie – They were yummy! I loved the peppermint in them!

  22. 22 Amy December 28, 2008 at 11:41 pm

    Amazing! Thanks for sharing. The WF one’s are delicious and I bet these are too 🙂

  23. 23 sweetandnatural December 31, 2008 at 1:08 am

    Amy – I love how short and sweet the ingredient list is on those cookies! They were my inspiration.


Comments are currently closed.



Contact

ashley.sweetandnatural@gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter!


Quantcast

