Peanut Butter Chocolate Thumbprints

cimg2474-1

I heart chocolate.

I heart peanut butter.

I know, I know, we all know this by now.

Lucky for me, my favorite holiday treat combines these two loves – Peanut Butter Blossoms.  You know the ones.  The crumbly, peanut buttery cookie with the sweet sugar coating and slightly melted chocolate kiss pressed right into the top.  YUM.  They’re on my Grandma’s cookie platter every holiday season and are always the ones I grab the second I walk in her door Christmas day. After giving her a big hug of course!

Fun fact – Peanut Butter Blossoms were the Pillsbury Bake-Off winner in 1957.  Hoo hoo!

cimg2503-1

Here’s my adapted recipe:

1/4 cup non-hydrogenated shortening

1/2 cup natural peanut butter

1/3 cup turbinado sugar

1 egg

1 tablespoon skim milk

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

3/4 cup white whole wheat flour

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup grain sweetened chocolate chips

2 tablespoons natural peanut butter

Preheat the oven to 375*F.  In a large bowl, beat together shortening and 1/2 cup peanut butter until well blended.  Add turbinado sugar and beat until fluffy.  Beat in egg, milk and vanilla extract.  In a separate bowl, mix together white whole wheat flour, baking soda and salt.  Add dry ingredients to wet ingredients and blend until combined. Roll dough into 1-inch balls and place on cookie sheet.  Using your thumb, make an indentation in the center of each dough ball.  Bake for about 8 minutes.  Note: You may need to press the indent in again when the cookies come out of the oven.  Mine stubbornly popped up a bit in there!  While the cookies are cooling, melt together chocolate chips and 2 tablespoons peanut butter.  Fill cookie indents with melty goodness.  Makes 20 cookies.

cimg2480-1

They’re so cute!  Like little buttons.

These cookies are so soft!  And the chocolate-peanut butter filling is sort of truffly in texture once it cools.  It wasn’t all that peanut buttery though.  I think next time I’ll up the peanut butter to chip ratio or just melt the chocolate chips themselves to make the filling.

Do you have a favorite memory of Peanut Butter Blossom cookies?  

cimg2491-1

25 Responses to “Peanut Butter Chocolate Thumbprints”


  1. 1 Pearl December 20, 2008 at 4:52 am

    mmm ashley those look so adorable!

  2. 2 ttfn300 December 20, 2008 at 7:05 am

    oh my gosh, i love this version!! must try 🙂

  3. 3 Lindsay December 20, 2008 at 7:46 am

    i seriously want to bite into them right now!

  4. 5 Melissa S. December 20, 2008 at 1:05 pm

    omg soooo good…i used to make these, but then i changed it up when i stuck the chocolate in between two cookies and made it a surprise when you bit into it! yum~

  5. 6 Megan December 20, 2008 at 1:23 pm

    i need those in my life!!!

  6. 7 Sharon December 20, 2008 at 1:49 pm

    Mmmmmm… I love those!

  7. 8 eatingbender December 20, 2008 at 2:14 pm

    Wow! You weren’t kidding when you said to check out your next post because I am drooling over those cookies! I love your version – they do look like little buttons!

    My favorite memory of PB Blossom cookies was when I made them with my roommate for Christmas this year 🙂 It was such a fun night!

  8. 9 bobbi December 20, 2008 at 4:31 pm

    love them want them making them!

  9. 10 sweetandnatural December 20, 2008 at 9:31 pm

    Pearl, Lindsay, VeggieGirl, Megan, Sharon – Thank you ladies!

    ttfn300, bobbi – Let me know how you like them if you do!

    Melissa S. – Ooh – I love cookies with surprise middles!

    eatingbender – Baking with friends is always fun. 🙂

  10. 11 Hangry Pants December 20, 2008 at 11:02 pm

    Yummy! I actually only made these once a couple years ago. I liked them a lot though, but we just never had them growing up.

  11. 12 Bridget December 20, 2008 at 11:15 pm

    Hope you’re enjoying St Louis!! I’m already in NE, too bad we didn’t get to meet 😦
    This is not my favorite memory, but it’s kind of funny…My family always makes these, but with Hershey Kisses on top. The first time I went to my now-husband then-boyfriend’s family’s house for Christmas, I bought a big tray of goodies, including these. As soon as his mom opened the container she said, “You brought titty cookies!” I am from a pretty conservative family of all girls, so no one at my house would ever say this! Anyways, I was a little shocked/appalled/not sure how to react at first – my husband’s family has a lot of boys and is just a lot different then my family! Now I think it’s kind of funny, but I still won’t take them to their house because I don’t like when anyone calls my delicious innocent cookies that.

  12. 13 Bridget December 21, 2008 at 12:56 pm

    Want.One.Now!!!! Those look incredible, and really, is there anything better than choc. and PB!!

  13. 14 teenageveggiehead December 21, 2008 at 5:34 pm

    OMG! I will have to make these.
    chocolate + peanut butter = best cookie ever!

  14. 15 sweetandnatural December 22, 2008 at 12:48 am

    Hangry Pants – I love how every family has their own traditions. I couldn’t imagine a Christmas without these!

    Bridget – Hilarious! Maybe you could try again, but put the kisses in upside down?

    Bridget, teenageveggiehead – Agreed – PB and chocolate are the best!

  15. 16 FollowMyWeigh December 22, 2008 at 1:59 am

    I love your camera shots! These look reaaallly yummy =P

  16. 18 MizFit December 22, 2008 at 10:18 am

    for some reason as a child I loathed these!
    they disappointed me.

    not sugarsappysweet enough I guess.

    as an adult? I ADORE.

  17. 19 sweetandnatural December 22, 2008 at 7:55 pm

    FollowMyWeigh, Mariposa – Thank you both!

    MizFit – Funny how tastes change over time! I’m glad you saw the light. 😛

  18. 20 Andrea [bella eats] December 23, 2008 at 6:21 pm

    Yum! These cookies take me back to my childhood,,,they are definitely a favorite. I’m so glad you posted these, I had a very sweet comment/question from a reader asking if I could try and “healthify” the PB Blossom cookie, but haven’t had a chance to. I will definitely point her in your direction! Merry Christmas, Ashley!

  19. 21 theplatedecorator December 23, 2008 at 8:48 pm

    Those cookies look sooooo good and melty and chewy and yummy I can’t wait to make them! thanks for the recipe!
    the plate decorator

  20. 22 Jen December 24, 2008 at 6:03 am

    One can NEVER go wrong with a pb n chocolate combo! 😀

  21. 23 sweetandnatural December 24, 2008 at 3:14 pm

    Andrea [bella eats] – These are a childhood favorite for me too! 🙂

    theplatedecorator – Report back on how they turn out if you do!

    Jen – Agreed!

  22. 24 Yum February 14, 2010 at 12:26 am

    I tried these, but used brown sugar instead and just rolled them in the turbinado sugar before baking them. Soooo good! Made them for a crowd, they came out perfect, thanks so much!! Love your blog.

  23. 25 Yehudis August 10, 2010 at 10:31 pm

    This is the second time I’ve made these – I learned to make a double batch because people LOVE them, they are seriously one of the most amazing cookie recipes and equally amazingly nutrition profile makeover to turn these guys into stars 🙂 My personal preference is to simply melt chocolate for the middle of the thumbprints, without peanut butter, because it seemed to make the chocolate taste funny, and this way you get 2 distinct contrasting flavors of the peanut butter to the chocolate 🙂 Thank you soooo much for the recipe, it made me my husband’s hero. 🙂


Comments are currently closed.



Contact

ashley.sweetandnatural@gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter!


Quantcast

