Peanut Butter Apple Muffins

cimg2542-1

You know what I realized the other day?  I’ve only made muffins once for this blog.  Jigga what?!  Muffins are one of my favorite things to bake, so that’s just crazy.  They’re super easy.  They’re totally versatile.  And after you’ve made a batch, you get to eat a sweet treat for breakfast until they’re all gone!  Very awesome.

I decided it was time for the return of the muffin.  Obvi.  Then I went looking for muffinlicious inspiration.  I thought back to my Blueberry Coconut Oaties – modeled after my favorite breakfast.  And it hit me – let’s model these muffins after my favorite snack!  You know what I’m talking about.  What better snack is there than an apple with peanut butter?  None, my friends.  None at all.  And that’s how Peanut Butter Apple Muffins were born.

cimg2530-11

I started with this recipe and it became this one:

2 cups chopped apples

1/2 cup natural peanut butter

1/2 cup Sucanat

2 egg whites

1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 cup white whole wheat flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon salt

Preheat the oven to 325*F.  Spray a muffin pan with cooking spray and set aside.  Place chopped apples in a bowl, coat with natural peanut butter and set aside.  In a large bowl, mix together Sucanat, egg whites, unsweetened applesauce and vanilla extract until well blended. In a separate bowl, mix white whole wheat flour, baking soda, cinnamon and salt. Stir the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients until just blended. Stir in peanut butter covered apples.  Pour into prepared pan and bake for 20-25 minutes.  Makes 10 muffins.

cimg2533-1

Chunky apples!  PB coat!

Ok, I’m not gonna lie.  These weren’t the best muffins I’ve ever baked.  They were good, but they weren’t the muffins dreams are made of!   I needed more peanut butter flavor.  And maybe a little more sweetness.  But I’m excited about the idea and I’m not giving up.  I think next time I’ll use honey as the sweetener.  And maybe swirl the peanut butter into the batter once it’s already in the tins.  I tried to keep it separate til the very end instead of stirring it right into the mixture, but I think it got lost anyway.  And peanut butter is not a taste that should ever be lost.  Am I right?

What do you guys think?  Any suggestions to help these muffins be all that they can be?

UPDATE: I reattempted these muffins and the results were great!  Check out the new and improved recipe!

cimg2523-1

33 Responses to “Peanut Butter Apple Muffins”


  1. 1 Hayley January 26, 2009 at 11:17 pm

    Peanut butter and muffins? I didn’t think either could be better, until this. Thanks for sharing!

  2. 2 Sharon January 26, 2009 at 11:22 pm

    Oh my gosh, looks so tasty! I want to try this!

  3. 3 Amy January 27, 2009 at 12:30 am

    Yum, I just opened a new jar of PB. Smart Balance makes a pre-stirred one that sweetened with Agave Nectar and is pretty much the most decadent thing ever. I’m sure it’d be delish in these muffins.

  4. 4 The Sister January 27, 2009 at 1:53 am

    I want these. Even if they weren’t the best muffins you’ve ever made. Peanut butter and apples are the two things I could eat for the rest of my life.

  5. 5 Lindsey (Mrs. LC) January 27, 2009 at 7:11 am

    Mmm, delicious concept!! I agree – next time I’d either just add some peanut butter to the batter, or swirl some through before baking (if you swirl it through, just make sure it’s a generous enough portion that there’s some in every bit!). I love this snack-inspired muffin!

  6. 6 Katie January 27, 2009 at 8:13 am

    Oh yum!! What a great flavor combo!

  7. 7 VeggieGirl January 27, 2009 at 8:19 am

    HOLY FREAKING GOODNESS YUM!!

  8. 8 Lauren January 27, 2009 at 9:03 am

    I get so excited when you post a new recipe, and these muffins look yummy! What about making a healthified peanut butter “frosting”? OK, I guess that would technically turn muffins into cupcakes, but it would give the peanut butter flavor a starring role. Just a suggestion 🙂

  9. 9 Mariposa January 27, 2009 at 11:37 am

    no need to fix.. they look lovely just the way they are!

  10. 10 Pearl January 27, 2009 at 12:42 pm

    wow! i like how there’s no oil in this muffin (aside from the natural ones in PB). if you make another batch with more honey, please be sure to review it! 🙂 there’s a company that makes honey + PB in a jar, so i think that mix would be delightful in your muffins!

  11. 11 Bridget January 27, 2009 at 1:57 pm

    Those look amazing. I bet a little drop of PB on each one after they came out of the oven and let it melt would add more delicious PB flavor as well!!

  12. 12 FollowMyWeigh January 27, 2009 at 3:21 pm

    oh wow, they still look SOOO good! i agree, pb is not something that should be lost. the swirling at the end sounds like a good idea~

  13. 13 Victoria January 27, 2009 at 4:19 pm

    SOrry they weren’t all they could be. I’ve actually had good results just mixing peanut butter into my muffin batter and been able to detect quite a bit of peanutty flavor that way.
    http://theidleloaf.wordpress.com

  14. 14 Kristie January 27, 2009 at 5:30 pm

    WOW. Okay so I’m definitely going to have to play around with the idea of peanut butter apple muffins because that sounds like an amaaazing combo. Maybe a blob of pb right into the centre or something… like pb stuffed muffins… hm. Or maybe apple muffins with a pb icing… so many possibilities!

  15. 15 ttfn300 January 27, 2009 at 7:36 pm

    wow, they sound incredible. what about using almond butter, and incorporating some almond flour??

  16. 16 Bridget January 27, 2009 at 8:56 pm

    Yum! Ummm, I would spread some PB on top of the muffin right before I eat it and I bet it would be awesome, but that’s probably not quite the suggestion you’re looking for 🙂

  17. 17 Erin January 27, 2009 at 9:15 pm

    I say slather the top of them with PB. 🙂

  18. 18 Kati January 27, 2009 at 9:35 pm

    I came across your site today- I love the idea of baking with only whole foods! These PB apple muffins sound fabulous! Tonight I made your PB & oat bars and will post the pics later this week- we loved them; they are so good! Hope it’s ok to add you to my blogroll 🙂

  19. 19 sweetandnatural January 27, 2009 at 10:03 pm

    Hayley – Just need to perfect the recipe now!

    Sharon – Thanks!

    Amy – I’ve had the Earth Balance almond butter, which is amazing. I need to try the PB!

    The Sister – You and me both. 🙂

    Lindsey (Mrs. LC) – Of COURSE I’d be generous with the swirling. What other way is there to be with peanut butter?! 😛

    Katie – It’s one of my favorite combos!

    VeggieGirl – 🙂

    Lauren – Now you’ve given me an idea for another baking project!

    Mariposa – You’re too kind. 🙂

    Pearl – I LOVE honey and peanut butter together, so I think it would work great for these muffins. I’ll definitely do another post if I give it a shot.

    Bridget – Great idea! Thanks for the suggestion!

    FollowMyWeigh – I think the swirling might be the way to go.

    Victoria – Thanks! I think my PB did end up getting mixed into the batter, which I was trying to avoid. I was going for more of a “ooh – muffin bite with PB chunk in it” sort of thing. But, if I did want to mix it right in, I think I’d add a bunch more PB. YUM. 🙂

    Kristie – I thought of that too!

    ttfn300 – Ooh – almond flour. Way to be creative!

    Bridget, Erin – I like the way you think. 😉

    Kati – Hi! I’m glad you found me! Those PB Oat Bars are one of my favorite recipes. Probably because I’m obsessed with PB. And I’m flattered that you added me to your blogroll! 🙂

  20. 20 Sara January 28, 2009 at 12:34 am

    Great idea for a muffin! You’re right…there is no greater snack than PB and apples. 🙂

  21. 21 Jesse January 28, 2009 at 8:01 am

    Yes yes I completely agree, peanut butter is a taste that should never get lost. But these look AMAZING!!!! AHH!! I want it NOW! Mmmm!

  22. 22 foodsthatfit January 28, 2009 at 8:29 am

    Have you ever tried PB2, it is a powdered peanut butter. You could add some of that in place of some portion of another dried ingredient. Then you would have a PB flavor in the batter and then swirl in some additional regular PB add the end for an extra touch. Hmm, I might have to try these myself! Have a great day!

  23. 23 biz319 January 28, 2009 at 8:30 am

    Yum, these look amazing!!

  24. 24 bobbi January 28, 2009 at 1:08 pm

    mmmmm I love those muffins!

  25. 25 Jennifer January 28, 2009 at 5:32 pm

    I love muffins too, and try to stay away from the 800 calorie, napkin soaking greasy bakery muffins (which I love!)

    Can you replace sugar with the 1/2 cup Sucanat??

    I have a Muffin of the Week category on my blog, if you care to get some more ideas!

    I will definately make these!

  26. 26 strongandhealthy January 28, 2009 at 6:08 pm

    Wow, peanut butter apple muffins look delicious! Love the recipe!

    http://www.strongandhealthy.wordpress.com

  27. 27 sweetandnatural January 28, 2009 at 9:35 pm

    Sara – It’s one of my favs!

    Jesse – Love the enthusiasm!

    foodsthatfit – I’ve heard of PB2, but I’ve never seen it in person! What’s the ingredient list?

    biz319, bobbi, strongandhealthy – Thank you ladies!

    Jennifer – You can definitely use regular sugar instead of Sucanat. I just use unrefined sweeteners for blog purposes.:-) I’m off to check out your Muffin of the Week!

  28. 28 linds January 29, 2009 at 9:13 am

    what a great idea for muffins! a peanut butter swirl sounds delish 🙂

  29. 29 Amanda January 29, 2009 at 1:50 pm

    You are truly amazing for thinking of this combo! 😉

    I suggest doing the peanut butter swirl method.

  30. 30 Melissa January 29, 2009 at 10:09 pm

    Holy yum, those look heavenly!!

  31. 31 Meg January 29, 2009 at 10:34 pm

    PB and apples combined in a muffin….BRILLIANT!

  32. 32 sweetandnatural January 29, 2009 at 11:26 pm

    linds, Amanda – Thanks! Swirl it is!

    Melissa, Meg – Thank you! 🙂

  33. 33 eatingbender January 29, 2009 at 11:42 pm

    Peanut butter is absolutely not a taste that should be lost! It looks like you got some great tips. I’m a baking novice so I would have no idea! But I can tell you that these muffins LOOK awesome, and the concept behind them (your favorite snack) is genius!


Comments are currently closed.



Contact

ashley.sweetandnatural@gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter!


Quantcast

