Peanut Butter Apple Muffins: Take II

cimg2588-1

Ladies and gentlemen…we have a winner!

Remember my Peanut Butter Apple Muffins from last week?  They did not live up to my expectations, so I wasn’t totally pleased.  They needed more peanut butter tastiness.  They needed more sweetness.  But I saw potential in their little muffin crumbs.  I knew they wanted me to be proud of them.  They just needed some help getting there.  And I was determined to provide that help. 

After a baking brainstorm and reading all of your suggestions – thank you! – I formed a plan of attack.  I’d use honey instead of Sucanat.  And I’d swiiiiirl the peanut butter into the batter once it was already in the tins.  To keep the flavor alive! 

Ready, set, GO!

Well, when it came down to it, I made a game-time decision that I believe took these muffins to the right place.  Instead of swirling the PB, I just plopped a glob right into the middle of each muffin.  You gotta go with what you’re feeling, you know?  And I was feeling the glob.  Kristie suggested this and she was right on.

cimg2586-1

So here you go peeps.  The new and improved Peanut Butter Apple Muffins:

1/2 cup honey

2 egg whites

1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 cup white whole wheat flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon salt

2 cups chopped apples

1/2 cup natural peanut butter

Preheat the oven to 325*F.  Spray a muffin pan with cooking spray and set aside. In a large bowl, mix together honey, egg whites, unsweetened applesauce and vanilla extract until well blended. In a separate bowl, mix white whole wheat flour, baking soda, cinnamon and salt. Stir the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients until just blended. Stir in chopped apples.  Pour half of the batter into 10 muffin wells from the prepared pan.   Place a glob of peanut butter in the middle of each.  Top with remaining batter.  Bake for 25-30 minutes.  Makes 10 muffins.

cimg2598-1

See the creamy line of peanut butter running through the muffin?  THAT’S what I’m talking about!

These muffins are what I was going for the first time around.  Chunky apples, cinnamon spices, subtle sweetness.  And enough PB to make them stick to the roof of your mouth.  I am now pleased.

Have you ever re-worked a recipe to make it better?

cimg2577-1

36 Responses to “Peanut Butter Apple Muffins: Take II”


  1. 1 VeggieGirl February 2, 2009 at 8:01 am

    New, improved, and the BEST!! 🙂

  2. 2 Mariposa February 2, 2009 at 9:13 am

    oh jeeees.. good the first time around.. and then even better the next! delicious!!!!

  3. 3 caitlin February 2, 2009 at 9:22 am

    those look insane!!

  4. 4 Melissa S. February 2, 2009 at 9:23 am

    i need to get to the store and buy ingredients for those! so enticing!!

  5. 5 Sweet and Fit February 2, 2009 at 9:42 am

    they look wonderful! I have definitely altered a recipe by tweaking the ingredients and/or subbing them to make it yummier and healthier.

  6. 6 Courtney (The Hungry Yogini) February 2, 2009 at 10:16 am

    Oh My Gosh those look wonderful! I bet the peanut butter is melty and delicious!

  7. 7 lauren February 2, 2009 at 10:27 am

    seeing the line of PB running through the muffin makes me HAVE to make these immediately!

  8. 8 The Sister February 2, 2009 at 10:32 am

    *drool, drool, drool*

    remember when you used to send me your leftovers? yeah. it’s been awhile…

  9. 9 Amy February 2, 2009 at 12:32 pm

    Mmmm delicious. You can never go wrong with a BLOB of peanut butter

  10. 10 sweetandnatural February 2, 2009 at 12:44 pm

    VeggieGirl – I liked them!

    Mariposa – These were definitely much better!

    caitlin – PB and apple is seriously one of my favorite combos. How could you go wrong?

    Melissa S. – Let me know if you try them!

    Sweet and Fit – Me too!

    Courtney (The Hungry Yogini) – The PB did sort of melt into the muffin crumbs. 🙂

    Lauren – That’s obviously my favorite part!

    The Sister – Is that a hint my dear?

    Amy – Agreed! 🙂

  11. 11 dailygoods February 2, 2009 at 1:25 pm

    wowwww the combo of pb and apples… couldn’t be better! love this recipe and can’t wait to use it!! thanks so much 🙂

  12. 12 Marianne February 2, 2009 at 2:06 pm

    I’d have gone with the glob of peanut butter method as well – that way you get a nice melty surprise in the centre. Yum!

  13. 13 Robin February 2, 2009 at 2:27 pm

    Thanks for the recipe, it looks delicious! I always like the surprise of something in the middle of baked goods 😉

    And I always rework recipes – they can always be improved is my motto!

  14. 14 Sharon February 2, 2009 at 2:30 pm

    Oh my gosh, I need to try this now!

  15. 15 Megan February 2, 2009 at 4:08 pm

    I am writing this new and improved recipe in my recipe book right now!! I can’t wait to try these!!! Happy Monday 🙂

  16. 16 Erin February 2, 2009 at 4:28 pm

    WOW those do look beautiful! I’m impressed! I usually just add more chocolate and stuff to make things better. 😉

  17. 17 Lindsey (Mrs. LC) February 2, 2009 at 5:19 pm

    amazing! remix well done. 🙂

  18. 18 Bridget February 2, 2009 at 8:31 pm

    Yay for perfecting the recipe!!! The sound SO awesome…again!

    I was reading your apartment post too…wow! I give you SO much credit for creating your masterpieces in such tight quarters, I don’t know how I’d handle it haha! Although I’m sure living in NYC makes it SO worth everything!

  19. 19 Elra February 2, 2009 at 8:55 pm

    Very moist and delicious looking muffin. It really look perfect.
    Cheers,
    Elra

  20. 20 Melissa February 2, 2009 at 10:07 pm

    I’ve gotta imagine those are some great tasting muffins. I mean, can you go wrong with apples and pb??!!

    I’m saving you email addy. You will be getting an email someday down the road for New York tips!! Thanks!! : )

  21. 21 ttfn300 February 2, 2009 at 10:53 pm

    wowsa, can i get some? 🙂

  22. 22 Andrea [bella eats] February 2, 2009 at 10:58 pm

    YUM! Apple and peanut butter are a to-die-for combo…one of my favorite snacks. But this reminds me that I haven’t had it in far too long!

    I have reworked some recipes, mainly to try and make them healthier. And to naturally sweeten them, of course! 🙂

  23. 23 Selba February 2, 2009 at 11:49 pm

    I would like to try this improved recipe 🙂

  24. 24 sweetandnatural February 3, 2009 at 10:11 am

    dailygoods, Sharon, Megan, Selba – Please let me know if you do try the recipe!

    Marianne – Great minds must think alike! 😉

    Robin – The middle surprises are always fun. 🙂

    Erin – I like the way you think. Chocolate does make everything better!

    Lindsey (Mrs. LC) – Thanks lady!

    Bridget – You’re so nice! I have to admit…I didn’t do much baking during my first year in NY. My oven actually didn’t work at that point! I tried doing muffins in my toaster oven a couple times, but it always seemed weird to me. When I finally got the oven fixed, I decided to redevote myself. 🙂

    Elra – Thanks! I don’t know about perfect, but they were yummy!

    Melissa – Yay New York!

    ttfn300 – If only we could reach through the screen and take each others tasty food!

    Andrea [bella eats] – VERY good combo.

  25. 25 Hayley February 3, 2009 at 10:26 am

    I am loving these! Your pictures are amazing, that Peanut Butter!!!

  26. 26 Rebecca February 3, 2009 at 12:45 pm

    I just made a batch of these muffins this morning (also in a tiny NYC apartment kitchen)! They were so good, I had trouble restraining myself from eating them all on the spot! Delicious – thanks for another great (and simple) recipe!

  27. 27 Angela February 3, 2009 at 5:18 pm

    DEAR GOD why do you make me drool at work!!! I’m out of kleenex too!

    Angela

  28. 28 sweetandnatural February 4, 2009 at 1:04 am

    Hayley – Thank you!

    Rebecca – I’m so glad you enjoyed them! Thanks so much for letting me know you tried the recipe! 🙂

    Angela – Hahaha – I’m glad they look so good to you?!

  29. 29 Melanie Thomassian February 4, 2009 at 1:09 am

    Thanks for the recipe, aw they sound delicious!!

  30. 30 Jenny February 16, 2009 at 5:14 pm

    I FINALLY got around to making these and LOVED them! I’m linking back here from my blog. Thanks for this, again!!

  31. 31 sweetandnatural February 17, 2009 at 2:35 pm

    Melanie Thomassian – Thanks!

    Jenny – I’m so glad you made – and enjoyed! – my muffins! 🙂

  32. 32 Caitlin March 19, 2009 at 3:49 pm

    what type of apples are best for this? I only have granny smith at the moment and am thinking they may be too tart..?

    thanks!

  33. 33 catms916 January 23, 2010 at 9:12 am

    OMG I made thes last night…. you are a genius, they are so so so good!!

  34. 34 Nicole February 25, 2010 at 8:25 am

    I made these muffins and the carrort cake = amazing! These recipes were perfect, I love how they only had agave or honey in them for the sweetener, I’m always trying to find dessert recipes with no brown sugar or sugar. The muffins were so moist and good loved when you got some peanut butter, and the cake was gone with a few days at my house! Thanks 🙂

  35. 35 Michelle Giroux November 6, 2011 at 12:43 pm

    What do you think about adding
    a bit of cocoa powder into the mix?


  1. 1 Peanut Butter Apple Muffins Bread « Crazy & Delish Natural Baking Trackback on August 22, 2009 at 12:52 pm
Comments are currently closed.



Contact

ashley.sweetandnatural@gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter!


Quantcast

