Baking Playlist + A Giveaway!

Hi peeps!  Trying to keep the Easter candy love flowing, you know.  I actually really dislike those rubbery marshmallows, but they’re fun to microwave!

Read on for a proposition and a sweet GIVEAWAY!

Wiggs at The Beholder hosted a fun contest last week.  And I WON!  I think it’s because a bird pooped on me on Tuesday.  That’s good luck, right?  Or TMI.  You pick!  Anyway, she asked her readers to submit their favorite workout song and compiled them into an iMix for everyone to download and enjoy.  Check out the songs and how to get the mix-ity mix here.

So, this contest got me thinking.  I listen to music when I’m working out.  I listen to music when I’m walking hastily to and from work or leisurely around the city on a lovely day.  I listen to music when I’m relaxing on an airplane or primping for a night out.  I have a soundtrack for so many parts of my life.  But you know where the music is missing?

In my kitchen!

I never get my iTunes going when I’m baking it up in there.  That, my friends, is no longer going to be acceptable.  I need a baking playlist! You know – a collection of playful, happy, la-dee-dah songs that get you boogying in your apron and singing into your spatula.  This is where you and the giveaway come in…

Leave a comment and tell me a great song to get busy in the kitchen with! That’s entry #1. Bonus entry for linking back to this post on your own blog. We want all the songs we can get over here!

You have until Friday, April 24 @ midnight EST to enter your song. I’ll then randomly pick one winner and send that reader a batch of the freshly baked – and easily mailable! Sweet
+ Natural
treat of their choice.  For everyone else, no worries.  I’ll do something for you too!  All songs suggested will be made into The Official Sweet + Natural Playlist on iTunes – ready and waiting for your listening enjoyment.

Get those musical ideas flowing!  Can’t wait to see your suggestions!

37 Responses to “Baking Playlist + A Giveaway!”


  1. 1 Sharon April 20, 2009 at 9:45 pm

    Cassie – Is it You.
    I’m addicted to that song.

  2. 2 Pearl April 20, 2009 at 9:45 pm

    “suga suga” by frankie j!

  3. 3 Pearl April 20, 2009 at 9:46 pm

    sorry – that was just the first song that popped into my head after i saw “baking.”

  4. 4 Wiggs April 20, 2009 at 9:46 pm

    Omigod omigod omigod….what sooooonnnnggg….presssssurrrrre….

    Okay. I’ve made a decision. The song is: “Ensemble” by Coeur de Pirate.

    Now I’m worried I’ve made the wrong choice. But I’m sticking with it. (Don’t add this to the playlist, but anything by the Ditty Bops is AMAZING for baking to. Or for serving dinner to. Same for Rodrigo y Gabriela. OKAY I’LL STOP. And don’t feel like you have to add those to the list, or you’ll go broke. Trust.)

  5. 5 The Sister April 20, 2009 at 9:49 pm

    “Gives You Hell” The All American-Rejects
    It’s sassy. And good for when you bake to de-stress.

  6. 6 The Sister April 20, 2009 at 9:50 pm

    I totally put that hyphen in the wrong spot.

    This just gives me an excuse to plead for you to feed my hungry college mouth. Do it because we’re related? 0:-)

  7. 7 Alison April 20, 2009 at 9:54 pm

    Oh…I can’t choose just one. Here are a few that come to mind:

    The Mountain – Heartless Bastards
    Anything by Gaelic Storm
    Wannabe in L.A. by Eagles of Death Metal
    Cross Your Fingers by Laura Marling
    Misery Business by Paramore

    I could go on here…. 🙂

  8. 8 Alison April 20, 2009 at 9:56 pm

    I linked back too.

  9. 9 helpmeghanrun April 20, 2009 at 10:06 pm

    Banana Pancakes by Jack Johnson. Particularly good if you’re actually making banana pancakes, but it’s a great song nonetheless.

    Check out my blog as I run with Team in Training and raise money for blood cancers!
    www. HelpMeghanRun .com

  10. 10 chilton April 20, 2009 at 10:28 pm

    Old School Song-

    The March Violets- Turn to the Sky

  11. 11 Hangry Pants April 20, 2009 at 11:04 pm

    This is such a cute idea! Let me see. What about Candy Girl by New Edition.

    Also, I’ve been baking with Easter Candy and Spelt. I linked to your spelt post. 😀

  12. 12 lora April 20, 2009 at 11:46 pm

    “if you like pina coladas and getting caught in the rain” always gets me baking away..it is so upbeat and you can dance/twirl in the kitch 🙂 yes I twirl!

  13. 13 VeggieGirl April 21, 2009 at 6:46 am

    “Right Round” by Flo Rida.

  14. 14 Lauren April 21, 2009 at 6:55 am

    What a great idea, Ashley! I don’t put music on often enough in the kitchen, either.

    I’m a classic rock girl through and through, so my suggestion is Pour Some Sugar On Me by Def Leppard – sure, the lyrics are a little dirty, but the tune is catchy and I always find myself wanting to dance when it comes on 🙂

  15. 15 michelle rosborough April 21, 2009 at 7:29 am

    Do it Well by Jennifer Lopez

  16. 16 moprica April 21, 2009 at 7:47 am

    Jack Johnson – Banana Pancakes!!!

  17. 17 Melissa April 21, 2009 at 8:52 am

    I could not pick just one, especially since I don’t know your music tastes. So here’s a few take your pick 🙂

    Let it All Hang Out-The Hombres (Elizabethtown Soundtrack)

    Mony Mony-Billy Idol

    Sour Cherry-The Kills

    Mannequin-Britney Spears

  18. 18 Kati April 21, 2009 at 1:48 pm

    “Slow Dancing in a Burning Room” by John Mayer, or anything by him! I like to turn on his cd while I cook cause it’s relaxing :>

  19. 19 Gena April 21, 2009 at 2:37 pm

    Oooh, what fun. Whenever I need to put some energy in my step, I listen to “Temptation” by New Order! xo

  20. 20 Leslie April 21, 2009 at 2:56 pm

    Definately “Pour Some Sugar On Me”

    Get a little freaky while baking up a storm!

    -Leslie
    http://lovejackson.blogspot.com

  21. 21 sarahdbelle April 21, 2009 at 3:08 pm

    “What a Wonderful World” by Sam Cooke is the perfect baking song. It’s relaxing and sweet, and makes me want to bake tons of cakes ; )
    Sarah
    http://sarahdbelle.wordpress.com/

  22. 22 Danielle April 21, 2009 at 3:46 pm

    I can’t think of one song but I do like listening to Jimmy Eat World while I’m cooking or cleaning, pretty much any song by them is a winner in my book.

  23. 23 Lisa April 21, 2009 at 7:15 pm

    Tangerine by Led zeppelin

  24. 24 Kelly April 21, 2009 at 9:22 pm

    I’m new to your blog 🙂 All your treats look so yummy, I follow clean eating so they are perfect for me. I better pick a good song so you can keep baking up a storm!

    How about Highway to Hell by ACDC it’s a classic and fun and upbeat plus for some reason it seem

    I also have to second the Pour some Sugar on Me. That was my first thought but it was taken.

  25. 25 Emma April 21, 2009 at 9:50 pm

    “Send Me On My Way,” Rusted Root.

    Especially good for anything that requires tossing, flipping, or high-speed mixing! =D

  26. 26 Liz April 22, 2009 at 11:51 am

    Tamacun by rodrigo y gabriela – if you don’t find yourself swaying and dancing i’d be surprised…

  27. 27 Angela April 22, 2009 at 7:51 pm

    ahhh what a lovely idea!!! I need this playlist- I LIVE in my kitchen now! lol

    The Old Apartment- Barenaked Ladies

    LOOOOVE IT!

  28. 28 Kelly April 22, 2009 at 10:36 pm

    that was supposed to say it seems to fit… not sure what happened

  29. 29 Troye Stadler April 23, 2009 at 4:17 pm

    I love anything Jack Johnson or John Mayer while I am in the kitchen. I also like Natasha Bedingfield and Sara Baralis

  30. 30 Hayley April 23, 2009 at 4:18 pm

    I would have to say “Spiralling” by Keane. I bake to their latest cd all the time, and that song is great to jam to 🙂

  31. 31 Jessica April 23, 2009 at 7:07 pm

    Tegan and Sara- Back in your head- that always has me singing along!

  32. 32 Michelle April 23, 2009 at 8:25 pm

    sara bareilles- love song
    a very up beat song..really keeps you motivated!

  33. 33 Hayley April 23, 2009 at 9:14 pm

    Heart it Races (As played by Dr.Dog) by Architecture in Helsinki. Thanks for the giveaway!

  34. 34 Amy April 23, 2009 at 10:06 pm

    Here for the Party by Gretchen Wilson

    You’ve got me inspired to make a kitchen playlist now!

  35. 35 Jessica April 23, 2009 at 10:08 pm

    Love Lockdown-Kanye West

  36. 36 Jenn April 24, 2009 at 8:21 am

    I love old Motown music…my husband and I danced to a Stevie Wonder song at our wedding. Also, Michael Buble! I love to put him on and have a glass of red wine while I cook dinner. Here are a few favorites that will definitely make you sing and dance while baking!
    Everything – M. Buble
    I Was Made to Love Her and For Once in My Life (our wedding song!) – Stevie Wonder
    Easy – The Commodores
    Ain’t No Woman Like The One I’ve Got – Four Tops
    Be My Baby – Ronettes

    Good luck putting together your playlist! Such a great idea!


  1. 1 Half-marathon training: Days 50 & 51 « The Beholder Trackback on April 21, 2009 at 5:38 pm
Comments are currently closed.



Contact

ashley.sweetandnatural@gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter!


Quantcast

