Banana Coconut Bars

DSC_0005-1

Well, bloggie friends, I’m moved into my new place!  And couldn’t be happier.  I can’t wait to explore the hood!  I’ve already spotted a health food store, mentally noted at least a dozen restaurants to try and bought a loaf of fresh bread from a nearby bakery.  Life is sweet.  Now if only the rest of my boxes would unpack themselves…

Oh, and did I mention that my fridge now has a freezer?!  Take that old apartment!  I’m sure it will soon be filled with yummy baked goodies.  And on that note, can someone tell me how to freeze things?  I’ve had nary an opportunity to do such a thing so am clueless re: avoiding freezer burn.  Help!

The recipe I’m sharing with you today was actually not made in my new apartment, but in my old apartment…um…two weeks ago.  I know, bad blogger.  Life got hectic!  But the photos I took ages ago have been staring at me from my desktop for too long.  I could wait no more to bring you Banana Coconut Bars.

DSC_0010-1

B-t-dubs, if you think my pictures are prettier than usual, it’s because THEY ARE!  That’s courtesy of my awesome new camera, which is courtesy of my more awesome, #1, best-in-the-world boyfriend who proudly encourages my pursuit of the arts.  Yes, I am now the grateful owner of an SLR.  And my new apartment has natural light.  Things are looking up!

Back to the food…

These bars were born of a combined need to use up a bunch of uber ripe bananas and my recent interest in coconut.  Riddle me this:  I was never a fan of coconut.  I then made Super-Charge Me! cookies, which contain said ingredient.  Ever since, I’m drawn to all things coconut!  What?! I really do think those cookies are crack.

Here’s my recipe for Banana Coconut Bars:

3 ripe bananas, mashed

2 tablespoons molasses

1/3 cup unsweetened applesauce

1/4 cup agave nectar

1/4 cup maple syrup

2 cups white whole wheat flour

3/4 teaspoon baking powder

3/4 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

3/4 cup unsweetened shredded coconut

Preheat the oven to 350*F.  Spray an 8×8-inch pan with cooking spray and set aside.  In a large bowl, mix together mashed bananas, molasses, applesauce, agave and maple syrup until well blended. In a separate bowl, mix white whole wheat flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Stir dry ingredients into banana mixture until just blended. Stir in coconut.  Pour into prepared pan and bake for about 50 minutes.

DSC_0003-1

Coconut flakes!  Banana chunks!

These were go-od.  So good, in fact, that Dan ate nearly half the pan in one evening.  So good that I’m sort of regretting giving him so many…  They were super moist and banana-ey.  Like delicious banana bread in little square form.  And low in fat to boot!

What’s your favorite banana recipe?

DSC_0013-1

43 Responses to “Banana Coconut Bars”


  1. 1 amyvig August 2, 2009 at 10:56 pm

    Congrats on the move! These look soooo good. I love coconut too 🙂

  2. 2 VeggieGirl August 2, 2009 at 11:05 pm

    Hooray for being in your new home-sweet-home!! Can’t wait to return to NYC to see ya 🙂

    My favorite banana recipe = Gena’s soft serve and some good ol’ banana bread.

  3. 3 Amanda (My Summerizations) August 2, 2009 at 11:06 pm

    Yay! Another thing for me to make when I don’t eat my bananas fast enough! Welcome to the coconut lovas club? Makes you want some Samoas doesn’t it? Oh you and your Tagalong love.

  4. 4 Lainie August 2, 2009 at 11:42 pm

    Congrats on your move! These bars look a-freaking-mazing….can’t wait to try them!

  5. 5 Shelby August 3, 2009 at 7:20 am

    I can’t have bananas but I might just make an exception for this treat!

  6. 6 N.D. August 3, 2009 at 8:19 am

    MM.. these look amazing! Yum, I want to make them. I wonder what I can sub for molasses, I don’t have that !

  7. 7 Pam August 3, 2009 at 8:19 am

    Those look amazing! I’m going to have to make those.

  8. 8 katherine August 3, 2009 at 8:57 am

    Congrats on completing your move (except those few remaining pesky boxes, of course)!! The banana coconut bars look fantastic – do you think they’d work with frozen bananas? I just bought a whole bag at the store this weekend but they were ripe so I threw them in the freezer….

  9. 9 Brandi August 3, 2009 at 9:28 am

    ooh, banana and coconut? yum.

    yay for the move going well and for having a freezer!!!

  10. 10 elise August 3, 2009 at 11:58 am

    congrats on being all moved in (well, at least physically). unpacking boxes = the opposite of fun.

    cant wait to hear about the restaurants in your new hood.

    i put errrrthang in tuperware before putting it in the freezer, and that seems to work.
    i love my moms banana bread, but those bars look like they could give it a run for its money. mmmmm!

  11. 11 Allison August 3, 2009 at 12:14 pm

    I don’t even like bananas and that bar looks AMAZING!

  12. 12 Lauren August 3, 2009 at 12:41 pm

    What a fantastic flavor combination! I will definitely be making these.

    Congrats on the big move!

  13. 13 Alison August 3, 2009 at 1:54 pm

    Yum! That looks delicious and healthy!

  14. 14 Kerstin August 3, 2009 at 4:31 pm

    Glad you’re done with the move! And yay for a new camera, that’s super exciting!

    Your bars look fabulous!

  15. 15 Melissa August 3, 2009 at 7:20 pm

    these look so so so good! can’t wait to try. and thanks for the link to the supercharge me cookies. glad you love the new place

  16. 16 Diana (Soap & Chocolate) August 3, 2009 at 9:37 pm

    Yay for your new digs!

    Your recipe sounds divine. And if you’re serious about really loving coconut these days, you know you need to get yourself up to Bonobos! Their coconut chai is to-die-for (like, seriously), and they can make you a fresh coconut shake out of anything from just the coonut meat + water to crazy concoctions with lime or banana! Hmm, maybe THAT’s my favorite banana recipe… 🙂

  17. 17 ttfn300 August 3, 2009 at 10:26 pm

    They sure do look like crack!! yum 🙂

  18. 18 Anne K. August 3, 2009 at 11:12 pm

    Wow, those look absolutely amazing! Banana and coconut are two of my favorite flavors. I saved the recipe–thanks 🙂

  19. 19 leslie August 4, 2009 at 6:17 am

    these look so delicious – banana and coconut are 2 of my favorite things! do you think whole wheat pastry flour would give them a completely different consistency? that’s all i’ve got in my kitchen right now. 🙂

  20. 20 Kate August 4, 2009 at 7:15 am

    Yum these look soooo good and I don’t usually love banana things. I’m glad to hear you like your new place! Enjoy the freezer and finally being able to keep some Ben & Jerry’s for later. 🙂 I’ve been using the freezer a lot to keep meals for when I’m pressed for time and I’ve found that Saran wrap is the best way to keep freezer burn to a minimum. I put meals in tupperware and then I layer Saran wrap over it so that the food is not exposed to air inside the tupperware.

  21. 21 sweetandnatural August 4, 2009 at 8:53 am

    Amanda (My Summerizations) – Oh Samoas – memories of youth…

    N.D. – You can probably just omit the molasses if you don’t have any. I think it adds a little depth of flavor, but they would taste great without it too!

    katherine – They would totally work with frozen bananas! Just let them thaw in the fridge first.

    elise – I just froze half a loaf of bread after wrapping it up like crazy in some leftover foil. Fingers crossed!

    Diana (Soap & Chocolate) – I’ve had the coconut chai! I got dinner at Bonobo’s with Gena a few weeks ago, and of course could not leave without trying it. SO GOOD!

    leslie – WWPF would totally work. They’ll probably just be softer. Not a bad thing at all. 🙂

    Kate – THANK YOU for the freezer tips! And yes, ice cream on stock is going to be a wonderful thing. 🙂

  22. 22 Hangry Pants August 4, 2009 at 4:06 pm

    First thing you need to freeze is bananas for banana soft serve!

    The bars look awesome. Yay for a new camera.

  23. 24 Paige @ Running Around Normal August 6, 2009 at 7:50 am

    Ahhh I need to try those, stat! They look amazing! Wonderful pictures, btw. Your boyfriend seriously rocks 😀

  24. 25 Lele August 9, 2009 at 9:16 pm

    Those bars look WAY too delicious to have such wholesome ingredients!

  25. 26 Meghan Telpner August 10, 2009 at 8:22 am

    Been looking for a great bar! Yummy

  26. 27 Angela (Oh She Glows) August 15, 2009 at 8:45 pm

    Congrats on moving in, SO glad to see you back!

  27. 28 Erika August 17, 2009 at 11:21 am

    Congrats on the move and the banana coconut bars look great!

  28. 29 Taryn August 23, 2009 at 3:10 pm

    Glad you like your new place. Those bars look yummy.

  29. 30 Sam@BingeNYC August 25, 2009 at 12:50 pm

    These look amazing!!! I adore coconut, yum.

  30. 31 Jessica August 27, 2009 at 9:50 pm

    I know I’m way behind because I just read your post, but these look awesome! I will have to make them…I hope you are settling into your new place!

  31. 32 Koko August 28, 2009 at 10:18 am

    Mmmm banana and coconut- what could be better!

  32. 33 Denise September 8, 2009 at 10:41 am

    Ashley,

    Hi! I’m new to the food blogging community. I’m glad I stumbled onto your blog. Love the photos & am really glad to find someone else into “natural” sweeteners. I’ll be glad when I have time to completely peruse your blog. I subscribed to your RSS feeds.

    I use honey granules in baking that I get through a food co-op (where I get my wheat). I also love using pure maple syrup (to sweeten plain yogurt or oatmeal).

    I haven’t done much baking lately since it’s been so hot out, but am looking forward to the baking to come. Fall comes late here in South Florida!

  33. 34 balanceinbites September 19, 2009 at 1:30 pm

    Wow, those looks great. Another awesome recipe I’ll have to try out =) I always buy a ton of bananas, but usually end up scrambling towards the end of the week to use them up before they turn completely 100% brown.
    -Allison (www.balanceinbites.com)

  34. 35 mike September 21, 2009 at 7:20 pm

    i got to try coconut banana bar (two of my favourite ingredients )this my second food blog (my first foodie blog stonyfield link to yours).

  35. 36 natalie (nono2yoyo.com) September 30, 2009 at 10:46 am

    I honestly do not think i’ve been more excited about any recipe in my life. This is so awesome! i can not wait…repeat can not wait to make these!! thanks!

  36. 37 Anna September 30, 2009 at 6:45 pm

    I just HAD to use my over-ripe bananas on these bars…and almost ate half the pan all by myself!! I also made a small section coconut-free with chocolate chips on top, which also turned out delicious if you’re looking for a more dessert-y, chocolate-y twist.

  37. 38 Sophie October 1, 2009 at 3:34 am

    Lovely, lovely, lovely!! I so digg this!! Healthy & so delcious!!

  38. 39 Brooke January 17, 2010 at 11:46 pm

    Just made these bars, and they turned out pretty well.

    To answer a few of the questions,
    – I used 1 frozen banana & 1 “fresh” – so yes, frozen bananas surely work!
    – I also only had 2 bananas so I only used 2, and added a giant handful of organic chocolate chips (that melt when you warm up a peice of this in the toaster oven…. mmmmmm!)
    – I used half white flour & half whole wheat flour… turned out fine, although next time, I will use almond flour!

    Great for lunches, or warmed up as dessert! 🙂

    Thank you for the recipe!

  39. 40 Chelsea August 21, 2010 at 1:31 pm

    I made these in tasty, gluten-free and lower sugar by subbing flax meal for flour, no maple syrup or molasses, then added walnuts and cinnamon. So good!

  40. 41 dory September 7, 2011 at 5:58 am

    These all look so yummy were do I start. I love desserts maybe a little to much 🙂


  1. 1 Tear-jerker « A Hint of Cinnamon Trackback on May 22, 2010 at 12:23 am
Comments are currently closed.



Contact

ashley.sweetandnatural@gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter!


Quantcast

