Kittens!

I don’t have a new recipe for you all today.  But don’t go just yet!  I do have something to share that will explain where my mind has been for the past couple of weeks – as my focus has clearly not been on baking.  Well, that’s not entirely true.  I have tried a couple experiments that had great potential.  But they sadly didn’t work out – hence no goodies for Sweet + Natural!  I’m determined to perfect those though.  Stay tuned.

Anyway, if you follow me on Twitter, you may have already heard the news.

Dan and I adopted kittens!

And I have fallen into and been completely absorbed by the black hole that is kitty cuteness.  Seriously, friends, these kittens are amazing.  I instantly embraced my furmom role and have been taking an exorbitant amount of pictures and talking about them to anyone who will listen – which now includes you!  Allow me to introduce our new furbabies.

This is Chester.

And this is Nora.

Chester is so ridiculously crazy that we sometimes suspect he could be diagnosed as mentally unstable.  Think tearing through the apartment at lightning speed, jumping several feet in the air just because, pouncing on suspicious-looking pens at every opportunity, rustling manically in a paper bag and bolting out the door – or attempting to – the second it opens.

Troublemaker in action.

But our little menace also loves to cuddle, so it balances out.  He’s all about extremes that one.

Nora is a sweetheart.  She was very timid and mostly hid the first couple of days, not knowing what to think of her new home or Chester – lots of hissing occurred during their courting period.  But now she and Chester are BFF – they chase each other around the apartment, cat wrestle and curl up into one furball to sleep together.

She is quick to snuggle up with us for a nap on the couch too.  She also loves to let out teeny meows whenever she enters a room and has an obsession with drinking from our water glasses.

I call her our little supermodel because she’s so pretty.

Work it girl.

We adopted them both from City Critters – a rescue organization in NYC.  Chester was abandoned at a vet’s office with his mom, and Nora was found alone on the street in Brooklyn.  We’re SO glad to be able to provide them a happy home.  And I highly recommend looking at the City Critters adoption listings if you’re in New York and in the market for a cat.  The ladies we worked with are wonderful!

So there you have it!  I promise I will try to peel myself away from them soon to whip up something awesome for you!

Do you have pets?  Are you as obsessed with them as I already am with mine?

21 Responses to “Kittens!”


  1. 1 Lily @ Lily's Health Pad January 31, 2010 at 5:23 pm

    Oh my gosh! Norah is such a tortie! You just wait, she will be talking up a storm in no time.

  2. 2 Evan Thomas January 31, 2010 at 5:37 pm

    Those are adorable! They’re always so cute at that age 🙂

  3. 3 Lauren January 31, 2010 at 8:03 pm

    Absolutely adorable kitties! My husband and I have an adopted cat and dog, both of whom we love immensely. They are our “children” for the time being ;). I wish they would snuggle together like Chester and Nora… they put up with each other, but they’re certainly not best friends. Perhaps with time!

  4. 4 The Sister January 31, 2010 at 11:20 pm

    Are they ready to meet their Aunt?!

    Wow. I am lame.

  5. 6 Laura February 1, 2010 at 4:33 am

    Very cute!! My boyfriend bought me a kitten for christmas she’s very cute but really naughty heh

  6. 7 Lily @ Lily's Health Pad February 1, 2010 at 5:53 pm

    Well, I don’t think its been proven by research, but every tortie I’ve ever known has been a talker! My cat Beatrice talks up a storm. She can seriously carry on a conversation with you. Ashley at Fashionably Fit has a tortie named Drama. She says that Drama is quite a talker as well.

    I’m happy that Nora is on her way to achieving her full tortitude potential!

  7. 8 N. D. February 2, 2010 at 10:30 am

    They are so cute! I wish they would stay tiny, so adorable!

  8. 9 Kate February 2, 2010 at 1:20 pm

    They are so cute! I’m glad to see Nora has warmed up to Chester. I remember the days when Garcia was a kitten and he would race through the house randomly. I was convinced we had mice before I realized he was just being a goofball. I highly recommend getting a laser pointer – it provides hours of entertainment!

  9. 10 jensanders52 February 2, 2010 at 2:20 pm

    How cute! Congratulations on the new additions to your family! I absolutely talk about (and to) my dogs like they are people!

    I just stumbled upon your blog and I think it is wonderful! I also try to live a healthy, wholesome diet and lifestyle. However, I have always struggled with how to do this and still satisfy my sweet tooth!

    I look forward to reading your blog regularly and picking up some baking tips! Thanks for putting together such a great resource!

    ~Jen
    Happy Heart, Happy Mind
    http://jensanders52.wordpress.com/

  10. 11 Lisa February 3, 2010 at 8:43 am

    They are adorable! I sometimes foster kittens for City Critters and agree they are one of the best groups in New York. Thank you for adopting, not buying, and for promoting rescue. Looks like I have another blog to follow 😀 Hugs to Nora and Chester!

  11. 12 Hangry Pants February 3, 2010 at 11:44 am

    I love them! Kittens are the absolute cutest. Have fun!

  12. 13 elise February 3, 2010 at 7:46 pm

    oh my goodness they are soooo cute!!!!

  13. 14 Heather (Heather's Dish) February 4, 2010 at 2:03 pm

    oh.my.gosh. your furbabies are so cute! i’m totally obsessed with my sweet puppies…LOVE them 🙂

    just found your blog and I love it…can’t wait to keep reading 🙂

  14. 15 chrysta February 4, 2010 at 9:05 pm

    OMG! SO cute..I love little kittens. Those two are the cutest!!! We have two cats too, sammie and Max. Their b-buds. We adopted ours for a local shelter. Just saw them one day and I couldnt say no, I absolutely love little cats. Have fun with them. Pets are the best! Have a great night hon!

  15. 16 LynnP February 6, 2010 at 9:02 pm

    They’re beautiful kitties! Bless your hearts for adopting. And yes, laster pointer plus kitties (or min pin puppies) equals hours of fun.

  16. 17 catms916 February 17, 2010 at 9:22 pm

    They are so adorable!!! Kudos for going the adoption route, you really do so much good when you adopt animals (not that there’s anything wrong with animals bought through a breeder). I have a siamese kitty named Peekay (after my fav book “The Power Of One”) who I’m in love with.

  17. 18 Maytina February 23, 2010 at 2:55 pm

    Gah!! They are so so sweet! Good call adopting as well, I’m always one for adopting over the pet store route! 🙂

  18. 19 kristilyn February 25, 2010 at 4:06 pm

    How adorable! My husband and I have 3 dogs and 2 cats – one of the cats is from the local animal shelter and the other cat is a barn cat. The animal shelter one, Zooey, drinks from water glasses, too. Actually, my husband was running late for work one morning and had a glass of milk on the table, when he grabbed his cereal and turned to sit down, Zooey was on the table drinking his milk! LOL! He was pretty grossed out!

    They’re going to be so much fun! 🙂

    K

  19. 20 Laurel Alanna McBrine March 1, 2010 at 10:30 am

    Oh, they are so adorable and bravo to you for adopting these two cute little furries. They will add so much to your life.

    I just posted a really great recipe I think you would like that is raw and gluten free – Raw Fudgy Chocolate Fruit and Nut Macaroons:

    http://www.creativelifeskills.blogspot.com

    Enjoy your new babies!

  20. 21 Cassandra February 15, 2013 at 9:57 am

    Congrats on your babies 🙂 They are blessed to have you! I’ve raised and fostered lots of fluffballs over the years…Kitties, Bunnies and Ratties (yup…rats!) – its alot of work and sometimes (quite often) destructive, but in moms eyes they can do no wrong!


Comments are currently closed.



Contact

ashley.sweetandnatural@gmail.com

Quantcast