Blueberry Coconut Oaties

cimg0980-1

I’m a HUGE fan of oats.

I eat them for breakfast nearly every morning.  To me, a big bowl of oats is a blank palate, a warm and fluffy vehicle for yummy mix-ins.  Cinnamon’s always there.  Mashed banana and peanut butter are definitely favorites.  Berries, pumpkin, walnuts – all super tasty.  Mmm…what’s not to love about oats?

And what’s not to love about oatmeal cookies?!  The good ol’ standard version is chock full of raisins.  But I look at oatmeal cookies the same way I look at my big bowl of oats.  Just waiting to live up to their true potential.  The kind of potential that can only be fulfilled by those scrumptious additions.

These Blueberry Coconut Oaties were inspired by my daily oats.  Dried blueberries and coconut were the mix-ins of choice this time around, but feel free to put your own little twist on them.  You can do whatever you like!

cimg0984-1

Here’s my recipe, adapted from this recipe:

1/2 cup vegetable oil

1/2 cup Sucanat

1 egg

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/2 cup whole wheat pastry flour

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon nutmeg

2 cups oats

3/4 cup dried blueberries*

3/4 cup unsweetened shredded coconut

* I used dried blueberries sweetened with fruit juice.

Preheat the oven to 350*F.  In a large bowl, mix together canola oil, Sucanat, egg and vanilla extract until well blended.  In a separate bowl, mix together whole wheat pastry flour, cinnamon, nutmeg and oats.  Add dry ingredients to wet ingredients and stir until blended. Stir in blueberries and coconut. Note: Dough will be sticky, so it may be easier to work with if you refrigerate it for 30 minutes or so. Roll heaping tablespoons into balls, flatten to about 1/3 of an inch and place on cookie sheet.  Bake for 6-8 minutes.  Makes 18 cookies.

cimg0975-1

Blueberry wrinkles!

These cookies were deliciously oaty!  There’s chewiness from the oats.  There’s juiciness from the blueberries.  And when coconut joins the party, it definitely ups the fun factor.  Throw in some spicy cinnamon and nutmeg and you’ve got yourself a wonderfully wholesome treat.

What’s your favorite oatmeal cookie mix-in?

cimg0963-1

34 Responses to “Blueberry Coconut Oaties”


  1. 1 Kelly Turner January 15, 2009 at 2:19 pm

    OMG these looks so good. healthy oatmeal cookies are my favorite.

    I love your purple background too

    Kelly Turner
    http://www.everygymsnightmare.com

  2. 2 Lindsey (Mrs. LC) January 15, 2009 at 2:51 pm

    Wow, what yummy looking cookies. I love oatmeal cookies that are healthier!!! And the purple underneath has become my favorite color lately – I’m obsessed with dark bright purples recently!! 🙂

    (haha I just read Kelly’s comment above mine and it sounds like I just reworded everything she wrote. Guess we have similar taste!)

  3. 3 Hangry Pants January 15, 2009 at 3:10 pm

    Amazing oaties! I honestly like plain old oaatmeal cookies best!

  4. 4 duodishes January 15, 2009 at 3:53 pm

    Never, ever thought about putting a blueberry in a cookie like this, but you’re right! It’s a great combo. If it works in a muffin, why not a cookie. Yum!

  5. 5 VeggieGirl January 15, 2009 at 4:26 pm

    LOVELY!!

    **Favorite mix-in = raisins

  6. 6 The Sister January 15, 2009 at 4:37 pm

    Wow, I wonder who inspired you to make these cookies? They must be brilliant. And a fellow lover of oats.

  7. 7 Andrea [bella eats] January 15, 2009 at 5:34 pm

    I love the substitution of dried blueberries for raisins! Two of my favorite things… 🙂

    On the treadmill question…I so wish I had access to one! Our small town has very limited gym options and they are pretty expensive. So, I just cross my fingers for warm weather instead! 🙂

  8. 8 Hayley January 15, 2009 at 8:20 pm

    Beautiful pictures, and the purple of the blueberries is so intense. I’m a fan of the cranberry walnut oatmeal cookie, but now that you’ve compared them to your morning oats, I’m definately going to have to experiment with some of my favorite mix-ins…nutella and banana perhaps?

  9. 9 ttfn300 January 15, 2009 at 9:04 pm

    ooh, i wish i could reach into the screen for one of these puppies 😉

  10. 10 Jen January 15, 2009 at 9:44 pm

    Those look AMAZING!!!!!!!! AMAZING pictures!!! So vibrant! I need to find some dried blueberries now! Where did you buy yours?

  11. 11 Diann January 15, 2009 at 10:52 pm

    I think dried sour cherries are my favorite add-in, but I love dried blueberries too. I love anything oatie, really.

  12. 12 Bridget January 15, 2009 at 11:30 pm

    I’ve totally been craving oatmeal cookies! I have a hard time baking without chocolate, so I love chocolate chips in my oatmeal cookies!

  13. 13 FollowMyWeigh January 16, 2009 at 2:01 am

    these look sooo good. coconut + blueberries – my favorite!!!

  14. 14 caitlin January 16, 2009 at 8:56 am

    those look way to good AND healthy to be called “Cookies” so i think “Oaties” works perfectly!

    i missed you!!

  15. 15 sweetandnatural January 16, 2009 at 11:13 am

    Kelly Turner, Lindsay (Mrs. LC) – Thanks ladies! I know you two were reading over each others shoulders when you wrote your comments!

    Hangry Pants – That is very classic of you. 🙂

    duodishes – Now I want to make blueberry coconut muffins!

    VeggieGirl – So you like the standard version!

    The Sister – So you want a shout out, huh? 😉

    Andrea [bella eats] – You are so brave to brace the cold!

    Hayley – OMG – Nutella and banana sound incredible. Please post a recipe if you try it!

    ttfn300 – If only we could really do that!

    Jen – Thanks! I got the dried blueberries at Whole Foods.

    Diann – I bet those cherries would be great with chocolate chips too!

    Bridget – I love chocolate chips in almost anything!

    FollowMyWeigh – Thanks! It was a tasty combo.

    caitlin – I like to make up words. 😛 Welcome back!

  16. 16 Sharon January 16, 2009 at 12:38 pm

    OH MY GOSH! Can I have one?

  17. 17 Allison January 16, 2009 at 1:48 pm

    Oh my goodness – those things look HEAVENLY! I’m always eye-ing up the packages of dried blueberries in the grocery store, now I totally have a reason to buy them! 🙂

  18. 18 megan January 16, 2009 at 2:22 pm

    I just found your blog and I think it’s great! Your pictures are amazing – I think i’ve bookmarked about 5 recipes already that I want to try! I also recently started a cooking/baking blog. Check it out if you have a chance! http://www.whatmegansmaking.blogspot.com. I’m definitely going to check back to see your new creations! 🙂

  19. 19 cassandra January 16, 2009 at 10:23 pm

    Yumm times a million! I want to eat those cookies! My favorite combo!!!!

  20. 20 Lauren January 17, 2009 at 12:49 pm

    Yay for dried blueberries! They seem to be underrated: delicious, but not found in many recipes. I’ll definitely be trying these.

    I have been searching for unsweetened shredded coconut for a while, and can’t seem to find it. I’ve looked in a few different grocery stores, as well as Trader Joe’s… but I haven’t tried Whole Foods yet. Any suggestions?

  21. 21 sweetandnatural January 18, 2009 at 11:27 am

    Sharon – Try them out yourself – they’re super easy!

    Allison – This was my first time trying dried blueberries too. What better way to be introduced to them than through a cookie?!

    megan – Thank you! I hope you like any recipes you try. Let me know what you think if you do!

    cassandra – Perfect!

    Lauren – I got mine at Whole Foods. 🙂

  22. 22 Allison January 18, 2009 at 11:58 am

    Hey!

    I think Arrested Development was so short lived because for some reason – it never got good ratings when it was on Fox. Now it has almost a cult following. I think I just never knew when it was on. WHen my husband introduced me to in (via DVD) – I fell in love! 🙂

  23. 23 eatingbender January 18, 2009 at 11:57 pm

    Oh my, Ashley! When I saw the first picture I just about raced to the fridge to grab some blueberries! You are so creative! I love blueberries in oatmeal but never would have thought to add them to cookies. These look so great – I will definitely have to add them in next time 🙂

    Gorgeous pictures, too!

  24. 24 Bridget January 19, 2009 at 8:36 am

    Those look SO SO amazing!! I want to make them now! 🙂 I am loving the coconut and blueberries!! What a great change from just raisins. They are gorgeous!! I think I’d love a chocolate and coconut mix in…I just can’t get enough gooey melty chocolate 🙂

  25. 25 Mariposa January 19, 2009 at 10:27 am

    yummy looking treats in spite of the coconut!! lol (the only one in blog world allergic to coconut.. i know!!! hahaha)

  26. 26 Angela January 19, 2009 at 6:01 pm

    Do you think it would work if I decreased the oil in these by half?

    Angela

  27. 27 sweetandnatural January 19, 2009 at 9:28 pm

    Allison – I know! I used to keep my fingers crossed that it would be brought back a la Family Guy.

    eatingbender – Thanks so much! Let me know what you think if you try the recipe!

    Bridget – Totally on the same page with you. Melty chocolate is amazing!

    Mariposa – Haha – I forgot! Maybe you could think of an interesting replacement?

    Angela – The dough was sort of crumbly, so I don’t think reducing the oil would be a good idea. You could try half applesauce, but it would change the texture for sure. Let us know if you make some good modifications!

  28. 28 dailygoods January 19, 2009 at 9:32 pm

    WOWWWW i need to make these now!!! I love craisins in my oatmeal cookies, but these look to die for! 🙂

  29. 29 healthy ashley January 20, 2009 at 1:25 pm

    Blueberry and coconut go so well together! With oats I love bananas.. in a bowl of oatmeal, oatmeal cookies.. anything!

  30. 30 Mel January 20, 2009 at 2:39 pm

    Umm.. how did I miss this post?! These look absolutely amazing. I just bought a ton of oats, more than I know what to do with! Now I know!

  31. 31 sweetandnatural January 21, 2009 at 8:17 am

    dailygoods – Thanks! 🙂

    Mel – Let me know how they turn out if you give them a try!

  32. 32 Jordan May 21, 2009 at 11:14 pm

    These sound, and look, so yummy! I would love to put blueberries in a cookie. Gotta try it… 🙂


  1. 1 Oh She Glows » Blog Archive » Ashley: Sweet and Natural Trackback on June 5, 2009 at 12:10 pm
  2. 2 Weekend Eats and Workouts « A Runner Wife's Life Trackback on June 23, 2009 at 7:42 pm
Comments are currently closed.



Contact

ashley.sweetandnatural@gmail.com

Quantcast